Ayers-Curry, Scovell Named Student-Athletes Of The Year

Jolee Ayers-Curry is the Female Student-Athlete of the Year.

Jolee Ayers-Curry is the Female Student-Athlete of the Year.

April 14, 2004

LUBBOCK, Texas - Lady Raider basketball team member Jolee Ayers-Curry and football team member Dupree Scovell were named the Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Year Wednesday night at the annual Academic Awards Reception at United Spirit Arena.

Ayers-Curry, a senior from Canyon, currently carries a 4.00 grade point average in graduate school after graduating in May 2003 with a 3.565 GPA in Exercise Sport Science. The four-year letterwinner graduated cum laude from the College of Arts and Sciences and earned the McHaney Scholar-Athlete Award in 2003. She was a Verizon Academic All-District selection in 2004 and was named to three Academic All-Big 12 teams. Ayers-Curry also participated in several community service activities including Special Olympics, Race for the Cure, Hoops for Heart and Coaches vs. Cancer.

During her career at Texas Tech, Ayers-Curry helped lead the Lady Raiders to four NCAA Tournament appearances, including three Sweet 16 berths and an Elite Eight appearance.

Scovell, a senior from Dallas, and the fourth Scovell to play football at Texas Tech, graduated cum laude with a BBA in marketing in December 2002. He is currently pursuing two additional undergraduate degrees in finance and management and has a 3.41 GPA. Scovell, who is scheduled to finish his graduate school in May, lettered for three seasons as a wide receiver for the Red Raiders. He was named the Offensive Prep Player of the Year in 2000 and the team's Most Conditioned Athlete in 2003.

Among Scovell's academic accolades are three years on the Academic All-Big 12 First Team; Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll every semester; Houston Bowl Academic Player of the Year (2003); and four times on the Dean's List. Scovell also served many community service projects including founding Crossbuilders, a non-profit organization to assist underprivileged youth. He also was a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Methodist Hospital volunteer and Quest/Young Life leader.

Over 200 student-athletes were honored on three levels of academic achievement - 3.0-3.39 (Merit Award), 3.4-3.74 (High Merit Award) and 3.75-4.0 (Excellence Award). Also recognized on the evening were Champs Life Skills Team Award for outstanding community service (women's basketball) and the Margaret Wilson Award for outstanding academic accomplishments from female student-athletes (Abigail Schubert, Dana Rosenbladt and Megan Schuessler of the track program). The men's golf program received the Team Excellence Award for producing the highest graduation and retention rates combined with team GPA. The golf team graduated 80 percent of its student-athletes over the last years and carried a team GPA of 3.29.

The top graduating seniors from each sport received director's chairs symbolizing their leadership in the classroom: Ayers-Curry (Women's Basketball), Tiana Boyea (Soccer), Kendall Brooks (Women's Tennis), Andre Emmett (Men's Basketball), Jackie Ey (Women's Golf), Corey Gerstner (Baseball), Andrea Joachims (Softball), Taylor Jobe (Football), Angela Mooney (Volleyball), Megan Schuessler (Women's Track), Brian Smith (Men's Golf) and Kenneth Wilson (Men's Track).

Index promo

Follow us!