Texas Tech's Brightest Honored At 2011 TECHSPY Awards

Taylor Potts was named the Male Student-Athlete of the Year.

Taylor Potts was named the Male Student-Athlete of the Year.

May 2, 2011

Photo Gallery

TECHSPY Highlights video camera

LUBBOCK, Texas - Football's Taylor Potts was named the Male Student-Athlete of the Year while soccer's Colleen Pitts took home the Female Student-Athlete of the Year honor at the 2011 TECHSPYS held on Monday evening at Texas Tech's Allen Theater.

Football's Lyle Leong and track and field's Shade Weygandt were named the Male and Female Athletes of the Year for their outstanding athletic contributions.

A grand total of 192 student-athletes were bestowed awards based on their academic standing while 16 other awards covered athletic achievement and community involvement. Texas Tech also honored its top graduating seniors from each sport; Leanne Mihelich (Soccer), Ashly Jacobs (Softball), Jennifer Harrell-Goehry (Volleyball), David Neill (Football), Nils Floren (Men's Golf), Rosalyn Kim (Women's Golf), Michael Reed (Baseball), Lindie Kimbro (Women's Basketball), Chris Ward (Men's Golf), Jessica Gibbs (Women's Track and Field), Chuck Zavala (Men's Track and Field) and Mike Singletary (Men's Basketball).

"Our student athletes are winners in every sense of the word," said Felicia Martin, Associate AD/Academics. "They succeed in the classroom, they achieve on the playing field, and they are accomplished in the community. The TECHSPY Awards is our opportunity to recognize what outstanding young men and women represent Texas Tech University and Texas Tech Athletics."

The award for outstanding community service was presented to women's basketball while the Good Citizen Award was presented to Pearlie Graves (Football) and Meredith Heath (Softball). The 2011 recipients of the Dr. Gerald Lage Award, granted by the Big 12 Conference with a minimum GPA requirement of 3.8, were Caroline Courtney (Volleyball), Kelsy Garland (Women's Tennis) and Jessica Gibbs (Women's Track and Field).

The TECHSPY for Male Team of the Year went to men's golf after the Red Raiders turned in a school-record, fifth place finish at the 2010 NCAA Championships in Chattanooga. The TECHSPY for Female Team of the Year was awarded to women's softball as the Lady Raiders turned in a 38-18 overall record in 2010 and advanced to the finals of the NCAA Stanford Regional.

Collecting honors for coach of the year were Wes Kittley (Male - Track & Field) and Jon Murray (Female - Women's Cross Country). The award for top administrator was given to Tory Stephens (Strength & Conditioning/Director of Nutrition) while the Red Raider Life Skills Award was presented to the Red Raider Club. Paul Julmeus, men's track and field, took home the Raider Red Congeniality TECHSPY while Colleen Pitts and Maggie Fete of women's soccer took home the Jeannine McHaney and Margaret E Wilson TECHSPY's, respectively.

A special memorial moment was held to remember former Red Raiders who passed away in the last year including; John Farquhar, Leon "Podd: Hill, Doug McCutchen, Janet Wright, Don Barber, Sharon Dykes, Kent Brown and Benni Evans.

The athletic awards presented at tonight's event were voted on by participating student-athletes, coaches, and athletic department employees while the academic awards were chosen by athletic academic staff, senior staff, athletic council, and various academic faculty. The TECHSPY's are an annual event coordinated by the Athletic Academic Services department.

Jeannine McHaney: Colleen Pitts, Soccer
Margaret E. Wilson: Maggie Fete, Soccer
Male Team of the Year: Men's Golf
Female Team of the Year: Softball
Male TECHSPY: Lyle Leong, Football
Female TECHSPY: Shade Weygandt, Women's Track and Field
Coach of the Year-Male Team: Coach Kittley, Men's Track and Field
Coach of the Year- Female Team: Coach Murray, Women's Cross Country
Raider Red Congeniality: Paul Julmeus, Men's Track and Field and Cross Country
Administrator Award: Tory Stephens, Strength and Conditioning
Red Raider Life Skills Award: Red Raider Club
Good Citizen Award: Pearlie Graves, Football & Meredith Heath, Softball
Team Community Service Award: Women's Basketball
Dr. Gerald Lage Award:
Caroline Courtney, Volleyball
Kelsy Garland, Women's Tennis
Jessica Gibbs, Women's Track and Field
Male Student-Athlete of the Year: Taylor Potts, Football
Female Student-Athlete of the Year: Colleen Pitts, Soccer

Index promo

Follow us!