Rotating image

Texas Tech Leads Big 12

May 31, 2000

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech led the Big 12 Conference by having three student-athletes named as postgraduate scholarship award winners, according to an announcement by the league office.

Football player Keith Cockrum, softball player Paula Workman and women's golfer Jamie Vannoy were among 11 Big 12 student-athletes to receive the awards. Nebraska was represented by a pair of student-athletes, while Oklahoma, Colorado, Iowa State, Oklahoma State, Texas A&M and Texas had one each.

The 11 honorees, receiving $5,000 each in postgraduate scholarships, represent the best of the best in the Big 12 Conference. To be eligible, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average, have competed for two years at their respective institutions and have completed their eligibility.

"We are extremely proud of Paula, Keith and Jamie," Texas Tech athletic director Gerald Myers said. "They represent the best of what college athletics is about. All three, as well as the other recipients, are proof that you can combine athletics and academic success at the highest level."

Cockrum, from Goldthwaite, Texas, graduated with a perfect 4.00 GPA in finance, economics and business administration. In addition to recording 71 tackles in 1999, Cockrum also captured the American Football Coaches Association Good Works national award, was named a Bank of America Classroom Champion and was honored in December by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame as a National Scholar-Athlete.

Workman, from Austin, Texas, batted .273 and led the Texas Tech softball team with 21 runs batted in while managing a double major in accounting and business administration. She was a three-time Academic All-Big 12 selection.

Vannoy, a Sandy, Ore. native, had a 76-stroke average and set a school record for a 54-hole tournament with a 218 at the Utah-Dixie Classic in April. She managed those accomplishments while having a double major in advertising and marketing and being named to eight Big 12 Conference Commissioner's Honor Rolls.

Texas Tech Store