Tech Wins Eight Individual Big 12 Titles

Sandra Iwunze

Sandra Iwunze
Track & Field Home

Baker Tosses Personal-Best In Weather-Shortened Day One

Red Raiders Primed And Ready For NCAA West Preliminaries

Texas Tech Qualifies 32 Entries For NCAA West Preliminaries

NCAA.com Wire
Email this to a friend

May 18, 2008

Complete Results

BOULDER, Colo. - Texas Tech women finished the Big 12 Championships in third place with a score of 101.5 and the men placed fifth with 76 points. It is the most combined individual titles that Texas Tech has won at a conference meet and the most points the women have ever scored at a conference meet.

Sally Kipyego became the first woman in Big 12 history to defend her 1500M title and to win it twice. She ran a NCAA regional time of 4:25.00. Kipyego also successfully defended her 5000M title. She ran a NCAA regional time of 16:39.44. Gladys Kipsang earned all-conference honors by finishing eighth with a time of 17:58.17.

"I just wanted to come out and give it my best effort today. " Kipyego said of her performance. "I expected to do well and I thank my teammates and coaches for believing in me. The race was run very competitive and I am just thankful to come out on top of the field as the champion."

Irene Kimaiyo won the 3K steeple chase beating the 2007 Big 12 champion and 2006 NCAA Champion Jenny Barringer. Kimaiyo ran a new stadium record and NCAA regional mark of 10:15.43. It is her second Big 12 Championship as she also has won the 2007 Big 12 Indoor 5,000M.

"I think I did good the whole time, I was hitting the same pace every lap" Kimaiyo said after the race. "The pace was just consistent the whole time, I felt really good. "

Shawon Harris won the 110M hurdles with a new stadium record and NCAA regional time of 13.55. Harris also won the indoor 60M Big 12 championship. This is the fourth year in a row that Tech has won the 110M hurdles as Marlon Odom won from 2005-2007. Omo Osaghae ran a personal best of 13.86 to finish third and Nathan Lowry finished seventh with a time of 14.19.



Sandra Iwunze won the women's 400M hurdles with a new school record and NCAA regional time of 57.14. Jasmine Flournoy earned All-Big 12 with a time of 1:01.97 and a seventh place finish. Harris also pulled double duty in the 400M hurdles finished in sixth place with a NCAA regional time of 50.68. Iwunze also earned all-conference honors in the 110M hurdles finishing sixth with a NCAA regional time of 13.76.

Mike Cast won the men's javelin with a throw of 213'-07". It is his second all-conference honor of his career as he placed third last year in the event. The win marks the second year in a row that a Red Raider has won the men's javelin as Jamie Robinson was the 2007 winner.

"It feels amazing." Cast said about winning. "I worked four years for this and it finally came true."

The women's discus had D'Andra Carter win the event with a throw of 189'-01". It is the first time a Red Raider men or women had ever won the discus. Patience Knight placed seventh with a throw of 162'-06" to earn all-conference honors. Brett McDaniel earned his first all-conference honors in the men's discus. He had a throw of 171'-04" to place fourth.

The men's 4x100M relay of Skye Green, Rashad Hawk, Osaghae and Julius Walker ran a NCAA regional time of 40.13 to finish in fourth place earning all-conference honors.

In the men's long jump Anthony Flemons was the top Red Raider as he finished third with a jump of 25'-3.25". Waylon Randolph placed sixth with a jump of 24'-5.75" and finishing eighth with a jump of 24'-2.25" was Bobby Evers. All three marks were NCAA regional marks.

The men's 800M saw Gilbert Limo and Silas Kemboi both earn all-conference honors. Limo finished in seventh with a time of 1:53.38 and Sang ran a time of 1:54.93 to finish eighth. The women had Kipsang earn her second all-conference honor of the weekend by placing third with a NCAA regional time of 2:08.96. Asia Diaz finished in fifth with a NCAA regional time of 2:10.39.

Brian Porter cleared 16'-6.75" in the pole vault to earn fifth place. The women's 4x400M relay of Jonisha Boleware, Erica Worthy, Keshima Starks and Sandra Iwunze ran a time of 3:42.68 for seventh place.

The men's 4x400M relay of Bill Lawhorn, Tim Foster, Rodney Mims and Lamont Adams finished in fifth with a NCAA regional time of 3:07.42. Texas A&M won the women's championship with a total score of 157 points and Colorado's men won its first Big 12 Championship with a total score of 138 points. Tech's women had the most points in the middle distance (20), distance (29) and throws (32). Kipyego was the second highest individual high point scorer with 20 points, while Harris was the eighth highest individual point scorer with 13 points.

The eight Big 12 titles that Tech won came from Kipyego (1500M, 5000M) Kimaiyo (3K steeple chase), Sandra Iwunze (400M hurdles), Patience Knight (shot put), D'Andra Carter (discus), Mike Cast (javelin) and Shawon Harris (110M hurdles).


Follow us!