Rotating image
White in Consideration For Bowerman Trophy

Junior Cierra White is receiving votes on the USTFCCCA Preseason Women's Bowerman Watch List.

Jan. 9, 2014

USTFCCCA Press Release

LUBBOCK, Texas - The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association has named Lady Raider sprinter Cierra White as one of 18 athletes in consideration for the 2014 Bowerman Trophy with the release of the 2014 Women's Preseason Watch List.

The organization named 10 athletes to the official watch list with White among an additional eight athletes receiving votes. The junior and 2013 All-American in the 100-meter dash is one five Big 12 athletes among those on the watch list and receiving votes.

The Bowerman Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female athlete in collegiate track and field.

White, the reigning Big 12 100-meter Champion, finished sixth overall in the 100-meter dash at the NCAA Outdoor Championships last year. The performance capped off a season in which she set school records in both the outdoor 100-meters (11.09) and the 200-meters (22.89). Her school record time of 11.09 seconds in the 100-meters ranked No. 4 nationally for the 2013 collegiate season, and ended the year at No. 28 in the IAAF world rankings.

The Philadelphia, Pa. native ran a leg on the All-America Lady Raider indoor 4x400 relay team which finished seventh overall at the 2013 NCAA Indoor Championship. The squad also broke a nine-year-old school record with a time of 3:33.72 at the Alex Wilson Invitational earlier in the season.

The relay squad went on to earn All-America Second Team honors during the 2013 outdoor campaign.

White also earned All-Big 12 honors in the 60-meter dash and the 200-meter dash during the 2013 indoor season.

Texas Tech opens the 2014 indoor track and field season Jan. 17-18 by hosting the annual Texas Tech Open at the Athletic Training Center on the Texas Tech campus.



Kamaria Brown - Texas A&M

Abbey D'Agostino - Dartmouth

Phyllis Francis - Oregon

Anna  Jelmini - Arizona State

Shalaya Kipp - Colorado

Cory McGee - Florida

Laura Roesler - Oregon

Ashley Spencer - Texas

Shanieka Thomas - San Diego State

Lindsay Vollmer - Kansas

 Also Receiving Votes: Natalya Bartnovskaya (Kansas); Emma Bates (Boise State); Dezerea Bryant (Kentucky); Bethany [Buell] Firsick (South Dakota); Morgann Leleux (Georgia); Natalja Piliusina (Oklahoma State); Colleen Quigley (Florida State); Cierra White (Texas Tech)



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders