Tech Sets Two School Records at Texas Tech Open

Omo Osaghae

Omo Osaghae
Track & Field Home

Crisp Qualifies For 800m Final At USATF Junior Championships

Tech Places 39 On Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team

Texas Tech Sends Seven To USATF Junior Championships

NCAA.com Wire
Email this to a friend

Jan. 16, 2010

Complete Results

LUBBOCK, Texas - The Texas Tech track squads opened the indoor track season with four NCAA provisional marks highlighted by freshman Shade Weygandt and the Lady Raiders 4x800m relay setting new school records.

Weygandt had all eyes on the pole vault runway during her first meet in the red and black. She won the pole vault with a NCAA provisional mark and new Texas Tech school record height of 4.11 (13'-5.75"). The freshman set a three-year old record set previously by Lindsey Walesheck.

The Lady Raider's 4x800M relay of Caroline Karunde, Winrose Karunde, Gladys Kipsang and Purity Biwott put their name in Tech history setting a school record and Athletic Training Center record. The winning time of 8:57.70 broke the facility record set by Wayland Baptist last season.

Omo Osaghae and Jansen Hyde both started the season strong in the hurdles. All-American Osaghae won the 55M hurdles with a NCAA provisional time of 7.22, which is currently the fastest time in the NCAA currently. Hyde ran a NCAA provisional mark of 7.34 to place second.

Tech also took third, fourth and fifth in the 55M hurdles as Jamele Mason (7.57), Brandon Tucker (7.61) and Ryan McDowell (7.94) all finished.



Junior transfer Latoy Williams started the year out with a NCAA provisional time of 46.84 to win the 400M. The 46.84 is currently the second- fastest time in the NCAA.

Sandra Iwunze took the 55M hurdle with a time of 7.94 after being second in the prelims of the event. Three Lady Raiders finished in the top five as Kelsey Lloyd (7.99), Katie Grimes (8.16) and Jamie Simanek (8.25) finished third, fourth and fifth, respectively.

Sophomore Markus Henderson had a busy and successful day on the track. He first took the 55M title with a time of 6.38 barely beating teammate Rashad Hawk who ran a 6.39. Henderson turned around later and won the 200M with a 21.29 and again beating Hawk in the race.

Terra Evans, Candace Jackson and Simanek finished first through third in the 200M. Evans ran a 24.15, while Jackson and Simanek ran a 24.64 and 25.62, respectively.

The 600Y had Tech take second in both the men's and women's races. Meshawn Graham debuted with a time of 1:25.03 and Zach Plinario ran a 1:12.51.

The women's mile had two Lady Raiders in the top five. Michelle Guzman (5:12.26) was second and Kaci Westervelt (5:20.25) finished fourth.

Ozie Okolie won the weight throw with a toss of 17.25M (56'-7.25") in her first completion of the year. Australian born Julian Wruck was second on the men's side with a mark of 14.62M (47'-11.75").

The redshirt freshman Ifeatu Okafor threw 14.09M (46'-2.75") to win the women's shot put, while Tyler Menges recorded a mark of 16.69M (54'-8.25").

The men's pole vault was won by Brian Porter as he cleared 5.05M (16'-6.75").

Devin Bailey, Shannon Jackson and Kearci Jobe placed first through third in the 800M with times of 2:17.29, 2:18.61 and 2:23.74, respectively.

Trudeann Clarke won the women's 400M with a 54.96 with Taylor Evans right on her heels as she finished with a time of 55.24.

Three Red Raiders were in the top four of the 3000M. Silas Kemboi won running an 8:32.70 and Thomas Cattin-Masson ran an 8:48.60 to place second. Zach Quinones crossed the line in fourth with a time of 8:55.02.

The men's 4x800M relay team countered the women's title by running a 7:50.16 to beat Wayland Baptist. The relay included Cory Higgins, Zack Dawson, David Boston and Nathan Milles.

The 4x400M `B' relay of Graham, Jackson, Iwunze and Erica Alexander battles Tech's other 4x400M `A' relay the entire race. The squad of Taylor Evans, Clarke, Terra Evans and Lloyd had the lead until the last 100M. The `B' relay inched out the win with a time of 3:42.81 with the `A" team running right behind in 3:42.81.

The men's 4x400M relay opened the season with Hyde, Henderson, Mason and Williams on the `A' team. The squad won the 4x400M with a 3:13.84.

Tech won the men's and women's 200M, 400M, 55M hurdles, 4x400m relay, 4x800M relay, shot put and the pole vault. Texas Tech's next meet will be next weekend as it hosts the Texas Tech Invitational.

Texas Tech Results (@ - NCAA Automatic, ! - NCAA Provisional, *School Record)

Women's Pole Vault
1. Shade Weygandt, 4.11M (13'-5.75)!*
4. Amanda Alley, 3.70, (12'-1.50")

Women's Shot Put
1. Ifeatu Okafor, 14.09M (46'-2.75")

Women's Weight Throw
1. Ozie Okolie, 17.25m (56'-7.25")

Men's Shot Put
1. Tyler Menges 16.68M (54'-8.75")
3. Julian Wruck 15.54 (47'-11.75")

Men's Pole Vault
1. Brian Porter, 5.05M (16'-6.75")

Men's Long Jump
7. Nick Green, 6.66M (21'-10.25")
8. Chuck Zavala, 6.61M (21'-8.25")

Men's High Jump
9. Nick Green 1.80M (5'-10.75")

Men's Weight Throw
2. Julian Wruck, 14.62M (47'-11.75")
4. Clayton Smith, 12.90M (42'-4.00")

Women's 55M hurdles
1. Sandra Iwunze, 7.94
3. Kelsey Lloyd, 7.99
4. Katie Grimes, 8.16
5. Jamie Simanek, 8.25
10. Roxie Greve, 8.84

2. Sandra Iwunze, 8.12
3. Kelsey Lloyd, 8.14
4. Katie Grimes, 8.23
5. Jamie Simanek, 8.35
10. Roxie Greve, 8.91

Men's 55M hurdles
1. Omo Osaghae, 7.22!
2. Jansen Hyde, 7.34!
3. Jamele Mason, 7.57
4. Brandon Tucker, 7.61
5. Ryan McDowell, 7.94

1. Omo Osaghae, 7.27!
2. Jansen Hyde, 7.47
3. Jamele Mason, 7.47
4. Ryan McDowell, 7.91
11. Nick Green, 8.32
16. Brandon Tucker, 9.28

Women's 55M
2. Candace Jackson, 7.19

2. Candace Jackson, 7.18

Men's 55M
1. Markus Henderson, 6.38
2. Rashad Hawk, 6.39

1. Rashad Hawk, 6.37
2. Markus Henderson, 6.45
4. Jansen Hyde, 6.49

Women's 400M
1. Trudeann Clarke, 54.96
2. Taylor Evans, 55.24
4. Jonisha Boleware, 58.83

Men's 400M
1. Latoy Williams, 46.84!
13. Sampson Oguntope, 52.13

Women's 600Y
2. Meshawn Graham, 1:25.03
11. Janel Wheeler, 1:42.43

Men's 600Y
2. Zach Plinario, 1:12.51
4. Bryce Brown, 1:13.32
6. Matt Davidson, 1:13.93

Women's 800M
1. Devin Bailey, 2:17.29
2. Shannon Jackson, 2:18.61
3. Kearci Jobe, 2:23.74

Women's 200M
1. Terra Evans, 24.15
2. Candace Jackson, 24.64
3. Jamie Simanek, 25.62
21. Kristyn Smith, 28.48
22. Roxie Greve, 28.49

Men's 200M
1. Markus Henderson, 21.29
2. Rashad Hawk, 21.44
16. Ryan McDowell, 24.53

Women's Mile
2. Michelle Guzman, 5:12.26
4. Kaci Westervelt, 5:20.25

Women's 3000M
5. Meagan Willingham, 11:00.42
7. Katherine Priebe, 11:13.03

Men's 3000M
1. Silas Kemboi, 8:32.79
2. Thomas Cattin-Masson, 8:48.60
4. Zach Quinones, 8:55.02

Women's 4x800M
1. Caroline Karunde, Winrose Karunde, Gladys Kipsang, Purity Biwott, 8:57.70*

Men's 4x800M
1. Cory Higgins, Zack Dawson, David Boston, Nathan Milles, 7:50.16

Women's 4x400M
1. Meshawn Graham, Candace Jackson, Sandra Iwunze, Erica Alexander, 3:42.81
2. Taylor Evans, Trudeann Clarke, Terra Evans, Kelsey Lloyd, 3:42.81
4. Kearci Jobe, Katie Grimes, Devin Bailey, Shannon Jackson, 4:00.96

Men's 4x400M
1. Jansen Hyde, Markus Henderson, Jamele Mason, Latoy Williams, 3:13.84
3. Bryce Brown, Rashad Hawk, Zach Plinario, Sampson Oguntope 3:22.70


Follow us!