Dallas Braden, Red Raider Greats Return for Alumni Game

Braden, who pitched at Tech in 2004, threw the 19th perfect game in MLB history on May 9, 2010

Jan. 22, 2013

LUBBOCK, Texas - The Texas Tech baseball program is hosting its fourth-annual Alumni Game on Saturday, Jan. 26 at 1 p.m. at Dan Law Field at Rip Griffin Park. The list of baseball alums returning to Lubbock includes 48 Red Raiders along with current major league left-handed pitcher Dallas Braden and Lubbock native and Miami Marlins right-handed pitcher A.J. Ramos.

Overall, there are 31 former Red Raiders returning that were selected in the Major League Baseball Draft - 16 of which are active big leaguers or minor league players. Eight former players who made it to the big leagues are returning along with 10 alums who were an All-American during their Red Raider careers will also be back on campus.

Coaching the Red Raider alums are two men who led the Red Raiders for a combined 38 years and both have their jersey numbers retired at Texas Tech as coaching legends Kal Segrist and Larry Hays will lead the Tech alumni team.

Segrist was the head coach of the Red Raiders from 1968-1983 while Hays - the program's all-time winningest coach - led Tech from 1987-2008 with an all-time record of 813-479-3.

Fans can catch a glimpse of this year's Red Raiders playing against the alumni on Saturday while admission to the game is free.

Also on Saturday, the Texas Tech baseball program will host the FirstBank & Trust First Pitch Dinner set for 6:30 p.m. at McKenzie-Merket Alumni Center (17th & University).

Alumni Game Itinerary
10:30 a.m. - Texas Tech team stretch
10:40-11:20 a.m. - Texas Tech batting practice
11:00 a.m. - Report time for alumni playing in the game
11:20-12:20 p.m. - Alumni batting practice
12:20-12:30 p.m. - Texas Tech infield/outfield
12:45 p.m. - Texas Tech and Alumni team introductions
12:55 p.m. - National Anthem
1:00 p.m. - Alumni Game (9 innings)
6:00-8:00 p.m. - First Pitch Dinner (Business-Casual Attire)

Active Major League or Minor League Baseball Players Returning (16):
C Bo Altobelli, RHP Chad Bettis, LHP Dallas Braden, RHP Shane Broyles, RHP Bobby Doran, LHP Zach Fowler, RHP Nathan Karns, LHP Robbie Kilcrease, LHP Colt Hynes, OF Roger Kieschnick, C Jeremy Mayo, 2B/OF Jamodrick McGruder, RHP A.J. Ramos, 3B Reid Redman, SS Kelby Tomlinson, RHP Duke von Schamann.

Former Major League or Minor League Baseball Players Returning (15):
Gary Ashby, Kent Blasingame, Mark Brandenburg, Saul Bustos, Joe Dillon (MLB), Travis Driskill (MLB), Johnny Grimes, Jerry Haggard, Todd Howey, Mike Humphreys (MLB), Brandon Kolb (MLB), Matt Miller (MLB), Miles Morgan, Chris Richburg, Steve Watkins (MLB).

MLB - Played Major League Baseball during their pro careers

Former Texas Tech All-Americans Returning (10):
Gary Ashby, Mark Brandenburg, Saul Bustos, Joe Dillon, Travis Driskill, Johnny Grimes, Jerry Haggard, Jamodrick McGruder, Matt Miller, Jimmy Zachry.

Texas Tech Baseball Alums Returning for Alumni Game:
Bo Altobelli (2010-2012)
Larry Anderson (1964-1965)
Gary Ashby (1974-1977)
Chad Bettis (2008-2010)
Kent Blasingame (1990-1992)
Jeff Boydston (1988-1992)
Dallas Braden (2004)
Mark Brandenburg (1991-1992)
Shane Broyles (2012)
Saul Bustos (1993-1994)
Joe Dillon (1996-1997)
Bobby Doran (2010)
Travis Driskill (1991-1993)
John Dudley (1964-1966)
Frank Enriquez (1983)
Zach Fowler (2011)
Johnny Grimes (1981-1984)
Mike Gustafson (1986-1989)
Jerry Haggard (1966-1969)
Larry Hays - Head Coach (1987-2008)
Ron Holly (1964-1966)
Todd Howey (1983-85)
Mike Humphreys (1985-1988)
Colt Hynes (2006-2007)
Morgan Johnston (1982-1983)
Nathan Karns (2008-2009)
Roger Kieschnick (2006-2008)
Robbie Kilcrease (2008-2009, 2011)
Brandon Kolb (1995)
Kurt Krystynik (1997)
Jeremy Mayo (2008-2010)
Jamodrick McGruder (2010-2012)
Matt Miller (1994-1996)
Miles Morgan (2006-2009)
Gary Pumphrey (1972)
A.J. Ramos (2006-2009)
Reid Redman (2011-2012)
Chris Richburg (2005, 2007-2009)
Chad Reynolds (1996, 2000)
Brandon Roberson (1999-2001)
Kal Segrist - Head Coach (1968-1983)
Khris Segrist (1986-1987)
Kelby Tomlinson (2011)
Jeff Turner (1981-1984)
Duke von Schamann (2011-2012)
Steve Watkins (1998)
Keith Wood (1983-1984)
Jimmy Zachary (1980-1983)




Follow us!