Baseball Hosts Second Annual Alumni Game Saturday

Former All-American and Team USA member Shane Wright (1997-99)

Former All-American and Team USA member Shane Wright (1997-99)

Feb. 8, 2011

LUBBOCK, Texas - The second annual Texas Tech Baseball alumni game will be held Saturday, Feb. 12, at Dan Law Field. Fans will get a chance to see the 2011 Red Raiders along with former Tech players with alumni action beginning at noon with the "Old Timers' Game." The alumni game - a nine-inning contest - is scheduled for a 1 p.m. first pitch.

Admission for the event is $1, with all proceeds going to support the Burkhart Center for Autism Education and Research. Gates will open at 11 a.m.

"We are very excited to welcome back our former players for our second alumni game," head coach Dan Spencer said. "Last year was great and we are looking forward to another fun event. We will host a dinner for our alumni and their families on Friday and then hit the field Saturday."

An official alumni roster will be announced Friday evening once jerseys have been assigned.

Several of the alumni returning to play in the game are currently on minor league baseball rosters, including Chad Bettis (2008-2010), Bobby Doran (2010), Jeremy Mayo (2008-2010), A.J. Ramos (2006-2009) and Chris Richburg (2005-2009).

In addition, over 50 former Red Raiders are expected to be in attendance for the alumni dinner scheduled for Friday evening.

Saturday Alumni Game Timeline:
10:00 a.m. - Alumni Team Batting Practice
10:50 a.m. - Texas Tech Batting Practice (cages)
11:00 a.m. - Gates Open - Admission $1 - donation to the Burkhart Center
11:40 a.m. - Alumni Infield
Noon - "Old Timers' Game" - 2 Innings
12:50 p.m. - Texas Tech Infield
1:00 p.m. - Alumni Game
4:00 p.m. - Autograph Session/Alumni Group Photo

Texas Tech Alumni Game Participants:
Mike Adams (1990-1991)
Cade Allison (1998-1999)
Chad Bettis (2008-2010)
Mike Bewley (1974-1977)
Larry Brown (1973-74)
Brennan Burns (1998-2001)
Saul Bustos (1993-1994)
Brian Cloud (2006-2009)
Bobby Doran (2010)
Randy DuRoss (1992-1995)
Steve Gooch (2002-2004)
Mike Gustafson (1986-1989)
Jerry Haggard (1966-1969)
Dana Juett (1966)
Matt Kastelic (1995-1996)
Eddie Luig
Ronnie Mattson (1973-1976)
Jeremy Mayo (2008-2010)
Mark McDowell (1980-1983)
Matt Miller (1994-1996)
Johnny Owens (1968-1970)
Jeff Peck (1994-1997)
AJ Ramos (2006-2009)
Steve Richardson (1997-1999)
Chris Richburg (2005-2009)
Willie Rueda (2006-2009)
Leonard Schenk (1969-1970)
Jason Seefeld (2006-2008)
Khris Segrist (1986-1987)
Chris Shuffield (1997)
Rodney Steph (1988-1991)
Nathan Swindle (1983-1986)
Jeff Turner (1981-1984)
Gilbert Vasquez (1970-1971)
Mike Woods (1962)
Shane Wright (1997-1999)



Follow us!