Trey Masek Named Big 12 Pitcher of the Week

Masek is 1-0 with a 0.00 ERA in 15 innings this season with 15 strikeouts

Feb. 25, 2013

MIAMI - Texas Tech junior right-handed pitcher Trey Masek (Giddings, Texas) has been named the Big 12 Pitcher of the Week, the league office announced Monday.

Masek becomes the 15th Red Raider pitcher to earn the award while being the first to receive the award since right-handed pitcher Duke von Schamann earned the honor last season.

Joining Masek with top conference weekly honors are Oklahoma junior infielder Matt Oberste (Player of the Week) and West Virginia junior outfielder Jacob Rice (Newcomer of the Week).

Masek pitched nine scoreless innings with seven strikeouts in a no decision during Tech's 1-0 loss to Connecticut in 11 innings on Sunday in Orlando, Fla., at the UCF Weekend Classic.

He was perfect through three innings retiring all nine batters faced and went on to retire 16 of the first 17 UConn batters he faced. His nine innings pitched marked a career high.

Masek became the first Red Raider to pitch nine scoreless innings in a game since 2007 when A.J. Ramos pitched a nine-inning complete-game shutout against Kansas in Lubbock.

Masek is now 1-0 with a flawless 0.00 ERA in 15 innings of work this season with 15 strikeouts. He is one of only two pitchers in the Big 12 Conference with a perfect 0.00 ERA through two starts this season.

- Trey Masek is the 12th Texas Tech RHP to earn the award... He is just the fourth Tech RHP to be named Big 12 Pitcher of the Week since 2006... it marks just the third time that a Red Raider has been awarded Big 12 Pitcher of the Week in the month of February and the first since 2002 (RHP Chris Phillips)

Texas Tech pitchers named Big 12 Pitcher of the Week:
2013 - RHP Trey Masek (February 25)
2012 - RHP Duke von Schamann (April 2)
2010 - RHP Chad Bettis (Feb. 22)
2009 - RHP Chad Bettis (April 13)
2007 - LHP Colt Hynes (March 12)
2006 - LHP Aaron Odom (April 18)
2006 - RHP Miles Morgan (March 21)
2005 - RHP Brian Wyatt (March 22)
2004 - RHP Corey Gerstner (May 18)
2003 - RHP Jeff Karstens (March 25)
2002 - RHP Dusty Buck (May 20)
2002 - RHP Chris Phillips (Feb. 11)
2001 - RHP Brandon Roberson (March 19)
2001 - RHP Chris Phillips (March 12)
1999 - RHP Kevin Tracey (March 15)
1998 - RHP Shane Wright (March 1)
1998 - RHP Shane Wright (March 23)
1997 - RHP Shane Wright (April 28)
1997 - LHP Jason Gooding (March 17)




Follow us!