Rotating image
Big 12 Baseball Championship Sites Selected for 2015 & 2016

The 2015 championship will mark the first for the Big 12 in Tulsa

Sept. 26, 2013

The Big 12 Conference has announced the selection of its 2015 and 2016 sites and host cities for the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship. Tulsa and ONEOK Field will host the event for the 2015 season, marking just the third time in Conference history that the postseason tournament has not been in Oklahoma City. Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark and Oklahoma City will welcome the championship back in 2016.

"We are pleased to add Tulsa to our championship host site roster, while maintaining our long-standing relationship with Oklahoma City, "said Commissioner Bob Bowlsby.

The announcement was made following the conclusion of the Big 12 fall meetings of its faculty athletic representatives, athletics directors and senior woman administrators representing each member institution.

The Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship has been played in Oklahoma City 16 times since the league began competition in 1996-97. The Ballpark at Arlington in Arlington, Texas, hosted the event in 2002 and 2004.

ONEOK Field is located in the historic Greenwood District of downtown Tulsa. Built over a 16-month period, ONEOK Field is a sentinel addition to the downtown landscape. The ballpark opened in 2010 and is home to the Tulsa Drillers, Double A affiliate of the Colorado Rockies. ONEOK has a capacity of 8,152, but is capable of holding up to 9,000 for special events, and has averaged 9,300 fans over four Bedlam contests between Oklahoma and Oklahoma State from 2010-13.

Oklahoma City's Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark is home to the RedHawks, Triple A affiliate of the Houston Astros, and seats just over 13,000.

Tickets for the 2014 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship in Oklahoma City are slated to go on sale in March. Check for details.



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders