Rotating image
Old Spice Classic Finalizes Field for Sixth-Annual Event

Robert Lewandowski and the Red Raiders will participate in the Old Spice Classic next season.
Robert Lewandowski and the Red Raiders will participate in the Old Spice Classic next season.

March 30, 2011

LUBBOCK, Texas - The eight-team field for the Old Spice Classic has been unveiled with the addition of Indiana State for the 2011 event to be held Thanksgiving weekend, Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 24, 25 & 27, at the HP Field House at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex near Orlando, Fla.

Joining Indiana State in the field for the sixth annual Old Spice Classic is Arizona State, Dayton, DePaul, Fairfield, Minnesota, Texas Tech and Wake Forest. ISU earned a bid to the 2011 NCAA Championship, while Dayton and Fairfield were National Invitation Tournament (NIT) participants.

The 2011 Old Spice Classic, a bracket-format tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match Sunday, Nov. 27.

Sponsors include Old Spice, ESPNU and ESPN's Wide World of Sports. The Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) will serve as the event's sponsoring conference for the sixth straight year.

Notre Dame captured the 2010 Old Spice Classic title, while Florida State won the 2009 Classic. Previous winners were Gonzaga in 2008, North Carolina State in 2007 and Arkansas in 2006.

The family-friendly tournament is a weekend-long affair at the Walt Disney World Resort where participating teams practice, play and enjoy the Walt Disney World Resort Theme Parks. Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the Old Spice Classic Web site at

The Old Spice Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television, Inc. (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders