Hanspard Named Semifinalist For Doak Walker Award

Texas Tech tailback named to elite group of national running backs

Nov. 21, 1996

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech junior running back Byron Hanspard has been selected as a semifinalist for the 1996 Dr Pepper Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's top running back by the GTE*SMU Athletic Forum.

Hanspard, a 6-0, 193-pound tailback from DeSoto, Texas, is one of eight semifinalists being considered for the award. The national selection committee for the award will select the recipient by secret ballots that are due to be returned by Monday, November 25. The winner of the award will be announced in a press release on Monday, Dec. 2 and will be honored at a dinner at the Fairmont Hotel in Dallas on Tuesday, Dec. 3.

"The GTE*SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors is particularly pleased with the quality of semifinalists for the 1996 Dr Pepper Doak Walker Award," said Bill Lively, founder and executive director of the organization. "The players selected represent several athletic conferences, and their individual productivity and contributions to their teams are impressive."

Three of the eight semifinalists are from the Big 12 Conference, while the Atlantic Coast Conference and Big Ten have two selections each. The Western Athletic Conference has one member of the list.

Hanspard became only the sixth running back in NCAA history to surpass the 2,000-yard mark in a single season after a 257-yard performance against Southwestern Louisiana last weekend at Jones Stadium. Hanspard has set eight Texas Tech records this season and is the school's all-time leading rushing with 4,135 total years in just under three seasons.

A licensed minister, Hanspard has rushed for over 100-yards in 16-straight games and has surpassed the 200-yard mark in five games this season. He is averaging a national-leading 200.0 yards per game rushing and 217.6 all-purpose yards per game.

Doak Walker Award Semifinalists
Darnell Autry     Northwestern University
Tiki Barber       University of Virginia
Calvin Branch     Colorado State University
Troy Davis        Iowa State University
Warrick Dunn      Florida State University
Byron Hanspard    Texas Tech University
Robert Holcombe   University of Illinois
David Thompson    Oklahoma State University
Mattress Firm

Follow us!