Rotating image

Feb. 4, 1997

Texas Tech Football Presents Awards

Several Red Raiders honored at annual banquet

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech head football coach Spike Dykes handed out a number of annual individual awards as the team celebrated its successful 1996 season and fourth-straight bowl campaign tonight at the Red Raiders' annual team banquet held at the Lubbock Civic Center Exhibit Hall.

Junior tailback Byron Hanspard, the 1996 Doak Walker Award winner, was named the winner of the Pete Cawthon Memorial MVP Award, given to the team's most valuable player. Senior linebacker Ryan Donahue, a Lubbock native, was the recipient of the Dell Morgan Memorial Courage Award, given to the most courageous performer. Seniors Sone Cavazos and Jody Brown and junior Corey Chandler shared the Donny Anderson Sportsmanship Award.

Captains Awards were given to junior Dane Johnson and seniors Anthony Armour and Robert Johnson on defense and juniors Byron Hanspard and Zebbie Lethridge and senior Casey Jones on offense.

The Clint Ramsey Academic Effort Award was shared by sophomore Montae Reagor and redshirt freshman Taurus Rucker. Senior academic all-district selection Field Scovell was handed the award for the senior with the highest grade point average. The Dallas native earned a 3.7 gpa and graduated last spring with a degree in finance.

"We are really proud of our entire team and the effort they put forth this past season," said Spike Dykes, Texas Tech's head coach. "The individuals we honor tonight are a reflection of the total team effort it takes to be successful, both on and off the field. I am proud of every one of our players and the contribution they have made to our football program."

Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders