Rotating image

Hanspard To Appear on Awards Show

ESPN to feature Hanspard, nine other college football awards live from Orlando

December 11, 1996

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech tailback Byron Hanspard will be honored for his selection as the recipient of the Doak Walker Award, along with nine others who have been selected as the best players at their position, at the sixth annual Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

The show will air live from Walt Disney World in Orlando, Fla. on Thursday, December 12 from 7:30-9:30 p.m. (CST) on ESPN. The announcing team of ESPN's Gameday program: Chris Fowler, Kirk Herbstreit and Lee Corso will host the show.

The awards presented will be:
Doak Walker Award (Best Jr. or Sr. Running Back)
Biletnikoff Award (Wide Receiver)
Home Depot College Football Coach of the Year
Honda Student Athlete
Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Maxwell Award (Best All-Around Player)
Maxwell Football Club Defensive Player of the Year
Davey O'Brien Memorial Award (Quarterback)
Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman)
Jim Thorpe Award (Defensive Back)

Hanspard, a native of DeSoto, became only the sixth running back in NCAA history to surpass 2,000 yards in a season and has been named first-team All-America and first-team All-Big 12 this season. He set eight Texas Tech offensive records this season and is Texas Tech's all-time leading ground gainer. The Red Raiders finished the season with a 7-4 overall record and 5-3 mark in the Big 12 Conference, good for second place in the South Division. Tech will face Iowa in the Builders Square Alamo Bowl on Sunday, December 29 at 7 p.m. in San Antonio in its school-record four-straight bowl appearance.

Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders