Rotating image
April 4, 1997

Red Raider Football Captains Announced

LUBBOCK, Texas -- Texas Tech head coach announced team captains for the 1997 season at halftime of the squad's annual Red-Black scrimmage Thursday at Jones Stadium.

Senior quarterback Zebbie Lethridge received 105 of a possible 117 votes to earn the honor for the third-straight season. A native of Lubbock, Lethridge is the first Texas Tech quarterback to lead the Red Raiders to three-straight bowl games and was a second-team all-Big 12 selection last season by league coaches.

Also selected to serve as captains for the 1997 season were offensive lineman Chris Whitney (Pampa, Texas), defensive end Montae Reagor (Waxahachie, Texas) and defensive tackle Cody McGuire (Crane, Texas).

In addition to team captain awards, Dykes also announced the winners of the "Dare Greatly Award" and the JT King Awards.

McGuire was the recipient of the Dare Greatly Award, which is presented each year to the football player who shows the greatest work ethic in the off-season weight program.

Sophomore tight end Tim Winn (Longview, Texas) was the recipient of the JT King Award, presented to the Red Raider who shows the most improvement during spring training. The JT King Award is named after former Texas Tech head football coach and athletic director JT King.

Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders