1995 Honor Roll


Byron Hanspard, TB

Honorable mention All-America by UPI...Consensus first-team All-SWC...SWC Offensive Player of the Year by Waco Tribune...First-team All-SWC by AP, Dallas News, FW Star-Telegram, Austin-American Statesman, Waco Tribune and Football News...Second-team All-SWC by Houston Chronicle..SWC Offensive Player of the Week vs. Arkansas State and SMU by AP...AT&T Long Distance "Run from Scrimmage" Award after Houston game...MVP of Weiser Lock Copper Bowl.

Ed Hendrix, OG

Second-team All-SWC by Waco Tribune...GTE/SWC Academic Honor Team...GTE Academic All-District VI Team.

Ben Kaufman, OT

Second-team All-SWC by AP, Dallas News, Austin American-Statesman and Waco Tribune.

Zebbie Lethridge, QB

Weiser Lock Copper Bowl Offensive Player of the Game.

Tony Rogers, KS

GTE/SWC Academic Honor Team.

Field Scovell, SE

Hitachi/CFA Scholar-Athlete Team...GTE/SWC Academic Honor Team....GTE Academic All-District VI Team.


Shawn Banks, LB

Second-team All-SWC by FW Star-Telegram and Waco Tribune.

Marcus Coleman, R

First-team All-America by Football Writers of America, Dallas News and American Football Quarterly...Second-team All-America by UPI...Consensus first-team All-SWC...First-team All-SWC by AP, Dallas News, FW Star-Telegram, Houston Chronicle, Waco Tribune and Football News...Second-team All-SWC by Austin American-Statesman...SWC Co-Defensive Player of the Week vs. A&M by AP.

Dane Johnson, S

First-team All-SWC by Austin-American Statesman as punt returner...Second-team All-SWC by Waco Tribune as DB...Second-team All-SWC by FW Star-Telegram as punt returner.

Zach Thomas, LB

Unanimous first-team All-America...selected by The Football Writers Association of America, Walter Camp Foundation, American Football Coaches Association,, AP, UPI, The Sporting News, College Sports Magazine Dallas, News, American Football Quarterly and Football News...one of three Butkus Award finalist...one of five finalists for the 1995 College Football Defensive Player of the Year award by the FWAA...Football News Defensive Player of the Year finalist...Consensus SWC Defensive Player of the Year...Football News SWC Player of the Year....SWC Defensive Player of the Year by Dallas News, AP, Waco Tribune and Austin-American ...Consensus first-team All-SWC (unanimous)...First-team All-SWC by AP, Dallas News, FW Star-Telegram, Houston Chronicle, Austin American-Statesman, Waco Tribune and Football News...National Defensive Player of the Week vs. A&M by Sports Illustrated and The Sporting News...SWC Co-Defensive Player of the Week vs. Missouri and A&M by AP.

1995 Consensus All-Southwest Conference Team
QB:     James Brown,      Texas, 6-0, 190, Soph.
RB:     Byron Hanspard,   Texas Tech, 6-0, 190, Soph.
RB:     Leeland McElroy,  Texas A&M, 5-11, 205, Jr.
RB-KR:  Jerod Douglas,    Baylor, 5-9, 167, Soph.
WR:     Albert Connell,   Texas A&M, 6-2, 180, Jr.
WR:     Mike Adams,       Texas, 6-1, 185, Jr.
WR:     John Washington,  TCU, 5-9, 165, Jr.
TE:    *Pat Fitzgerald,   Texas, 6-2, 225, Sr.
OL:    *Dan Neil,         Texas, 6-2, 285, Jr.
OL:     Jimmy Herndon,    Houston, 6-8, 300, Sr.
OL:     Ryan Tucker,      TCU, 6-6, 285, Jr.
OL:     Calvin Collins,   Texas A&M, 6-3, 290, Jr.
OL:     Fred Miller,      Baylor, 6-7, 294, Sr.
K:    **Michael Reeder,   TCU, 6-0, 162, Soph.
DL:    *Brandon Mitchell, Texas A&M, 6-4, 275, Jr.
DL:    *Tony Brackens,    Texas, 6-4, 250, Jr.
DL:     Daryl Gardener,   Baylor, 6-7, 315, Sr.
DL:     Chris Piland,     TCU, 6-4, 222, Sr.; 
        Chris Akins,      UT, 6-1, 290, Soph.
LB:   **Zach Thomas,      Texas Tech, 6-0, 236, Sr.
LB:     Reggie Brown,     Texas A&M, 6-2, 232, Sr.
LB:     LaCurtis Jones,   Baylor, 6-0, 200, Sr.
LB (tie): Larry Izzo,     Rice, 6-0, 215, Sr.
          Craig Swann,    SMU, 5-11, 225, Jr.
DB:    *Marcus Coleman,   Texas Tech, 6-2, 208, Sr.
DB:    *Adrian Robinson,  Baylor, 6-2, 210, Sr.
DB:    *Ray Mickens,      Texas A&M, 5-8, 177, Sr.
DB:     Bryant Westbrook, Texas, 6-0, 197, Jr.
P:      Tucker Phillips,  Rice, 6-2, 210, Jr. 
*-All-America choice;  ** Consensus All-America
Consensus Coach of the Year  --             John Mackovic,    Texas
Consensus Offensive Player of the Year  --  James Brown,      Texas
Consensus Defensive Player of the Year  --  Zach Thomas,      Tech
Consensus Newcomer of the Year  --          Shon Mitchell,RB, Texas
How they voted:
Austin American-Statesman (staff), 
The Associated Press (vote of head coaches), 
Dallas News (staff), 
Fort Worth Star-Telegram (staff), 
Houston Chronicle (vote of coordinators),
Waco Tribune (staff), 
Football News (staff).


Follow us!