Rotating image


Football Team Hands-Out Awards, Names Captains

Stoney Garland earns special team honor for 1998.

April 4, 1998

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech Head Football Coach Spike Dykes handed-out spring team awards and named the captains for the 1998 season today at the annual Red-Black Game held in Jones Stadium.

Rising junior cornerback Oscar Solis (Slaton, Texas) earned the J T King Award, given to the player who shows the most improvement during spring drills. Rising senior defensive end Montae Reagor (Waxahachie, Texas) earned the Dare To Be Great Award, given to the player that shows the most effort and work ethic in the strength and conditioning program.

"I am really proud for Oscar and Montae," said Dykes. "These two young men exemplify what it means to be a college student-athlete in this day and age. Oscar works as hard an anyone and has moved into a position to see a lot of playing time next season. Montae, much like Zach Thomas was a few years ago, is an inspiration to every player on our football team. He plays like an All-American, but most importantly, he practices and works hard in the weight room like an All-American."

Team captains, selected by the members of the football squad, for 1998 will be Reagor, rising senior receiver Donnie Hart (Wolfforth, Texas), rising junior quarterback Rob Peters (Katy, Texas), rising junior linebacker Kyle Shipley (Arlington, Texas), rising junior defensive end Taurus Rucker (Denison, Texas).

Stoney Garland, who was critically injured in an automobile accident last November, was named an honorary captain for the 1998 season. Garland, a native of Plains, Texas, is currently undergoing rehabilitative therapy in Lubbock following three months at the Baylor Rehabilitation Center in Dallas.

"Stoney has shown tremendous resolve and determination to get over his tragic accident," said Dykes. "He is an inspiration to everyone involved and will be a major part of our football program next season."

Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders