Hyder, Clark Named to Preseason Watch Lists

Clark earns a nod on the Outland and Lombardi preseason lists

July 11, 2013

Senior defensive lineman Kerry Hyder has been named to the preseason watch lists for the Outland, Lombardi and Nagurski trophies while sophomore offensive lineman Le'Raven Clark has earned a spot on the Outland and Lombardi list.

The individual honors are the first for Texas Tech since the Football Writers Association of America began rolling out the preseason honors from college football's major awards.

Hyder, a senior from Austin, had a strong junior season and that lauded him numerous postseason accolades in 2012 and has him projected as one of the top defensive lineman in the nation in 2013. Last season, he picked up several first team All-Big 12 honors by numerous publications after posting 56 total tackles with 14 for loss. His 14 tackles for loss ranked him fifth in the Big 12 Conference and his five and a half sacks placed him seventh in the league. He logged 10.5 of his 14 tackles for loss in conference play and that put him in third place in the Big 12.

Clark, a sophomore from Rockdale, is coming off a stellar freshman season that earned him First-Team Freshman All-America honors by the FWAA and Second Team Freshman All-America honors by Scout.com. He started all 13 games in 2012 and was part of an offensive line that helped pave the way for a running back corp that rushed for 1,674 yards - the most by Tech since the 1998 season.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Five days later three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 68th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12 from Disney's Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2013 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the 25-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 9 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. In addition to the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. The candidates earned a place on the preliminary watch list by earning All-American honors, being named to their respective all-conference teams or receiving 2013 pre-season honors. The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List will be updated prior to the start of the 2013 season in order to identify other players who have received significant pre-season honors.

While the Watch List highlights those players who have already received national recognition, any Division 1 player who meets the requirements is eligible for consideration from the Rotary Lombardi Selection Committee. This committee is comprised of more than 500 members, including all past winners and finalists, all Division 1 head coaches and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

Texas Tech opens its 2013 season at SMU on Aug. 30 at SMU. Season tickets can be purchased online at texastech.com or by calling (806) 742-TECH.




Follow us!