Eric Ward Named Preseason Candidate for the Biletnikoff Award

Football Home

Texas Tech Homecoming Weekend Schedule of Events

Red Raider Football With Kliff Kingsbury Tonight

Red Raiders In The NFL: Week 4 Update

NCAA.com Wire
Email this to a friend

Ward caught 84 passes with 11 touchdowns and 800 yards in 2011

July 17, 2012

2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List Get Acrobat Reader

LUBBOCK, Texas - Junior wide receiver Eric Ward would like nothing more than to etch his name into the Texas Tech history books by taking home the top prize for a collegiate wide receiver. So far, he is off to a great start.

Ward was named one of 49 preseason candidates for the 2012 Biletnikoff Award on Tuesday morning by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation. The Biletnikoff Award honors the nation's top wide receiver and has been awarded twice to Texas Tech as Michael Crabtree claimed the honor in back-to-back seasons in 2007 and 2008.

Among the 49 preseason candidates for the award are eight student-athletes from the Big 12 Conference. Joining Ward on the preseason list is Tavon Austin (West Virginia), Stedman Bailey (West Virginia), Josh Boyce (TCU), Mike Davis (Texas), Tevin Reese (Baylor), Kenny Stills (Oklahoma) and Terrance Williams (Baylor).

Ward enters his junior season as the top returning receiver from last year after hauling in 84 receptions and 11 touchdowns in 2011. He piled up 800 receiving yards in 12 games while averaging 66.7 yards-per-game and 9.5 yards-per-catch.

Ward's placement on the preseason watch list marks the fifth consecutive season for a Tech player as Crabtree made the list in 2008, Detron Lewis in 2009 and 2010 and Alex Torres in 2011.

The 2012 winner will be presented live on December 6, 2012, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:30 - 9:30pm on ESPN. Foundation Chairman Walter Manley, II, announced that the Biletnikoff Award winner will receive his trophy before 600 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 9, 2013.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 12, 2012, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 19, 2012. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at www.biletnikoffaward.com.



Follow us!