Rotating image
Harrell Named to Manning Award Watch List

Junior quarterback Graham Harrell was named to the Manning Award watch list Wednesday.
Junior quarterback Graham Harrell was named to the Manning Award watch list Wednesday.

Aug. 8, 2007

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech junior Graham Harrell (Ennis, Texas) is one of 35 quarterbacks named to the 2007 Manning Award watch list, announced today by the AllState Sugar Bowl, which oversees the award. Harrell is the first Tech quarterback named to the preseason list for the award, which is in its fourth year.

Harrell led the Big 12 Conference in passing last season with 4,555 yards and 38 touchdowns. His yardage total marked the fourth-best sophomore season in NCAA history, while his nine 300-yard passing games ranks fifth on the Tech career list.

In addition to Harrell were four honorees hailing from the Big 12 Conference, including Chase Daniel (Missouri), Sam Keller (Nebraska), Colt McCoy (Texas) and Bobby Reid (Oklahoma State).

The Manning Award was created by the AllState Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning, and will be presented to the recipient following the holiday bowl season. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

The winner will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings.

The first three winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Last season, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award, capped by his performance in the Allstate Sugar Bowl. All three players went on to become first round draft picks in the NFL.

Finalists for the award will be announced prior to the beginning of the bowl season.



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders