Rotating image
Texas Tech Football Elects Captains

Chris Parker
Chris Parker

Aug. 20, 2007

LUBBOCK, Texas -- Texas Tech Head Football Coach Mike Leach announced the team captains for the 2007 season Monday evening, shortly following the tabulations of a team vote during the group's nightly meeting.

Seniors Danny Amendola, Chris Parker and Paul Williams and junior Graham Harrell were each selected by their peers to serve as team captains for the upcoming season. Harrell is the first non-senior captain since Keyunta Dawson in 2005 and joins Kliff Kingsbury and Cody Hodges as the only quarterbacks elected captain in the Mike Leach era.

"These players have shown a tremendous amount of leadership during preseason camp," Leach said. "They each have earned the captain distinction. We've had many players step up during the preseason, so the honor could have gone to several others, too."

The Red Raiders' season gets underway Labor Day with a 3 p.m. kickoff at SMU. The game will be broadcast nationally on ESPN.



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders