Harrell Named to O'Brien Watch List

Texas Tech junior Graham Harrell was named to the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List on Tuesday.

Texas Tech junior Graham Harrell was named to the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List on Tuesday.
Football Home

Kingsbury Announces Summer Football Camp Dates

Jackson Agrees to Free Agent Deal With Oakland Raiders

Morales Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

NCAA.com Wire
Email this to a friend

Aug. 21, 2007

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell (Ennis, Texas) is one of the 35 quarterbacks nationally selected to the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, announced Tuesday by the Davey O'Brien Foundation in Fort Worth.

Harrell joins fellow Big 12 quarterbacks Chase Daniel of Missouri and Colt McCoy of Texas as the lone league representatives on the list. The preseason mention is the second for Harrell, as the junior was named to the Manning Award watch list August 8.

The first returning starter at quarterback for the Red Raiders since Kliff Kingsbury in 2002, Harrell finished his inaugural season as the lead signal caller with 4,555 yards and 38 touchdowns en route to recording the third-best sophomore season in NCAA history. Overall, his yardage total from a year ago was second only to New Mexico State's Chase Holbrook, who also is on the preseason list.

The Watch List is based on All-America teams and honorable mentions published in at least six different preseason college football magazines. A candidate must be listed as an All-America quarterback or as a 1st or 2nd team All-American within his conference in at least one publication, or as honorable mention in at least three publications.

The O'Brien requires selection committee members to consider the character and leadership qualities of each candidate, in addition to athletic prowess when voting.

"Along with athletic ability, the O'Brien winner must exhibit the same character and moral fiber that Davey O'Brien displayed throughout his life," Davey O'Brien Foundation executive director Danielle Moorman said. "We challenge watch list candidates to live up to this fundamental aspect of our award while leading their teams into competition."

The winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN Dec. 6, 2007. The recipient will be honored Feb. 18, 2008, at the annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Harrell, elected one of four team captains Monday, will lead the Red Raiders into the 2007 season when the team kicks off at SMU in an ESPN Labor Day matchup at 3 p.m. CT. Harrell helped lead Texas Tech to an 8-5 record last year and a 44-41 win over Minnesota in the Insight Bowl for Tech's fourth bowl victory in its last five appearances.

For a complete list of preseason candidates, go to www.daveyobrien.com.




Follow us!