Reagor Named Rotary Lombardi Semifinalist

Football Home

Kingsbury Announces Summer Football Camp Dates

Jackson Agrees to Free Agent Deal With Oakland Raiders

Morales Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

NCAA.com Wire
Email this to a friend

October 10, 1998

HOUSTON, Texas - Texas Tech defensive standout Montae Reagor is one of 12 college football players named to the list of semifinalists for the 1998 Rotary Lombardi Award, announced Saturday in College Station. The 12 semifinalists for the award, which is given annually to the nation's top college lineman, include six offensive and six defensive standouts.

Two star offensive linemen from the Big-13 and two star defensive linemen from the Pac-10 Conference made the initial cut. Representing the offensive side of the football is Arizona State center Grey Ruegamer and UCLA tackle Kris Farris. Texans Reagor and Dat Nguyen, a linebacker from Texas A&M, were also named semifinalists.

Ohio State linebacker Andy Katzenmoyer is one of four Big-10 student-athletes on the list, the most players from any single conference. Other Big-10 players include Iowa defensive tackle Jared DeVries, the only other returning semifinalist from 1997, Wisconsin offensive tackle Aaron Gibson, the nation's largest player at 6-7, 371 pounds, and Michigan offensive tackle Jon Jansen.

The SEC has three players on the list of semifinalists, including a pair of defensive forces from the University of Florida in tackle Ed Chester and linebacker Jevon Kearse. Joining those two is Georgia's offensive tackle Matt Stinchcomb.

Rounding out the list of 12 is a representative from the Western Athletic Conference, Colorado State offensive guard Anthony Cesario. The 29th Annual Rotary Lombardi Award will take place on Tuesday, Dec. 8, 1998 in Houston. Sponsored by the Rotary Club of Houston, the award dinner has raised more than $2.25 million for the American Cancer Society's programs of cancer research since its inception in 1970.

The list of the 12 semifinalists was announced in College Station, Texas, prior to the Texas A&M/Nebraska game. That key Big-12 match-up was an appropriate setting as the 1997 winner of the award, Grant Wistrom, played at Nebraska and Nguyen is a big part of the Aggies' national championship goals.

The 12 semifinalists for the 1998 award will be pared down to four finalists on Saturday, Nov. 7. The four finalists and their head coaches will fly to Houston on Dec. 7 and spend two days in the Space City with a busy agenda which includes visits to local hospitals and area youth clubs. The Rotary Lombardi Award recipient, as chosen by a panel of more than 300 national media members, college football coaches and past winners, will be named at a black-tie dinner at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Houston on Dec. 8.

To follow the progress of this year's nominees, fans can go online and visit the official Lombardi website at http://chili.collegesportsnews.com/lombardi -- Sections on the website include a history of the award, information on the Rotary Club as well as the charities involved which benefit from the dinner, individual biographies updated weekly on all of the 12 semifinalists, and even a form where people can order tickets to this year's event.

Name   	 		School  	Pos.    Hgt.    Wgt.    Cl.     Hometown
Anthony Cesario 	Colorado State	OG      6-6     310     Sr.     Pueblo, CO
Ed Chester      	Florida 	DT      6-4     285     Sr.     Spring Hill, FL
Jared DeVries   	Iowa    	DT      6-4     284     Sr.     Aplington, IA
Kris Ferris     	UCLA    	OT      6-9     310     Jr.     Mission Viejo, CA
Aaron Gibson    	Wisconsin	OT      6-7     371     Sr.     Indianapolis, IN
Jon Jansen     		Michigan	OT      6-7     299     Sr.     Clawson, MI
Andy Katzenmoyer        Ohio State      LB      6-4     265     Jr.     Westerville, OH
Jevon Kearse    	Florida 	LB      6-5     254     Jr.     Ft. Myers, FL
Dat Nguyen      	Texas A&M	LB      5-11    221     Sr.     Rockport, TX
Montae Reagor   	Texas Tech	DE      6-2     254     Sr.     Waxahachie, TX
Grey Ruegamer   	Arizona State	C       6-5     304     Sr.     Las Vegas, NV
Matt Stinchcomb 	Georgia		OT      6-6     290     Sr.     Lilbrun, GA

SEMIFINALISTS NOTES: Six of the 12 (Cesario, Ferris, Gibson, Jansen, Ruegamer & Stinchcomb) play on offense and six (Chester, DeVries, Katzenmoyer, Kearse, Nguyen & Reagor) play defense.

Conference breakdown - Big 10 (4), SEC (3), Big-12 & Pac-10 (2), WAC (1)

Nine of the 12 are seniors and three (Farris, Katzenmoyer & Kearse) are juniors.

Katzenmoyer is a returning Rotary Lombardi Award finalist; DeVries is a returning semifinalist.

Three of the 12 (Nguyen, Reagor & Stinchcomb) have been named to the 1998 AFCA Good Works Team in honor of their community involvement.

Five of the 12 (Farris, Gibson, Katzenmoyer, Reagor and Stinchcomb) are currently (as of 10/10) playing on unbeaten teams, while three others are playing on nationally-ranked teams with one loss (Chester, Kearse, Nguyen).




Follow us!