Team, Individual Honors Roll In For Texas Tech

 <A HREF= @SethDoege7 was named the Big 12 and Davey O'Brien Player of the Week.

October 15, 2012


DALLAS (FWAA) - Seth Doege threw for a career-high 499 yards and six touchdowns leading the Texas Tech Red Raiders to a stunning 49-14 win over No. 5 West Virginia to earn the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week award for games of the weekend of Oct. 13. The announcement came exclusively on SiriusXM Radio's "College Sports Today," hosted by Mark Packer and Eddie George.

The Red Raiders (5-1) had 18 plays of 15 yards or more - including a 61-yard pass to Jace Amaro and a 53-yard touchdown run by SaDale Foster - and scored touchdowns on five of their seven first-half possessions to take a 35-7 lead.

On the afternoon, the Texas Tech defense held West Virginia to 38 points below its season scoring average.

"This is a truly a team, a city, a university win today because not a lot of people gave us a chance," Texas Tech coach Tommy Tuberville said. "That was just a total team win."

Other Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week nominees for the weekend of Oct. 13 included:

• Oklahoma (4-1): The Sooners blasted Texas for a second consecutive season, storming out to a 36-2 halftime lead en route to a 63-21 win. Quarterback Blake Bell ran for four short touchdowns and Landry Jones threw for 321 yards and two touchdowns for Oklahoma, which has now outscored Texas 118-38 the past two years.
• Tulane (1-5): The Green Wave snapped its 15-game losing streak with a 27-26 win at home over SMU. Ryan Griffin hit Rob Kelley with a touchdown pass with 35 seconds left to give new head coach Curtis Johnson his first career win. The Football Writers Association of America has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. This is the eighth season that the award has been sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

Members of the FWAA All-America Committee decide the weekly honor. Each remaining Monday during the 2012 college football regular season, the FWAA will name the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week. The winner will be announced through Nov. 26 at 9:30 a.m. ET on the SiriusXM College Sports Nation channel.

Founded in 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl has hosted seven games that have decided the college football national championship, including four Bowl Championship Series title games. This season, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl will be played on Jan. 3, 2013, at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., and the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl will be played on Dec. 29, 2012, at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, Ariz.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com or 972-713-6198.

For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to footballwriters.com or fiestabowl.org.

2012 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Teams of the Week
• Weekend of Sept. 1: Ohio Bobcats
• Weekend of Sept. 8: ULM Warhawks
• Weekend of Sept. 15: Stanford Cardinal
• Weekend of Sept. 22: Kansas State Wildcats
• Weekend of Sept. 29: Washington Huskies
• Weekend of Oct. 6: N.C. State Wolfpack
• Weekend of Oct. 13: Texas Tech Red Raiders


For the first time since 2008, Texas Tech has claimed both the offensive and defensive player of the week honor from the Big 12 Conference. The last time Tech earned both weekly honors was following Tech's 39-33 upset win over No. 1 Texas on Nov. 1, 2008.

Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week
Seth Doege, Texas Tech, QB, Sr, Wollforth, Texas

Seth Doege led the Red Raiders to a 49-14 upset over No. 5/4 West Virginia. The 35-point win marked the largest victory over a Top 5 team in school history. Doege threw for a career high 499 yards along with six touchdowns. He was 32-for-42 on the day and became just the fifth quarterback in Tech history to reach the 50 career touchdown plateau. Doege helped TTU take a 35-7 halftime lead as he was 21-of-30 for 336 yards and four TDs at the break. Texas Tech was named the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week.

Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week
Cody Davis, Texas Tech, S, Sr, Stephenville, Texas

Cody Davis led a defensive effort that held a potent West Virginia offense to 14 points in Texas Tech's 49-14 win. He logged a season and game high 13 tackles along with two pass breakups. WVU converted just 30 percent of its third down attempts and 22 percent on fourth down.


FORT WORTH, Texas - After passing for 499 yards and tying a career-high with six touchdowns, Seth Doege has been named the Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week. Doege led the Texas Tech Red Raiders to an impressive 49-14 upset over the fifth-ranked West Virginia Mountaineers.

Doege threw two touchdown passes in Tech's first two possessions of the game and did not look back. He would go on to complete 32-of-42 passes with 15 of those going for 15 yards or more. The senior signal caller has guided his team to the fourth best passing offense in the NCAA Division I FBS with 369 yards per game this year.

"I thought Seth obviously did a heck of a job in just running our offense," Texas Tech head coach Tommy Tuberville said. "Running the ball, taking the screens when they gave it to him, throwing the ball deep and making big plays. It was just fun to watch him have success."

Doege will look to keep Tech's momentum going when they head down the road to face TCU in a Big 12 battle at Amon G. Carter Stadium this Saturday.

Honorable Mention for Week Seven:
Jeff Driskel, Florida, SEC
Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten
Cody Vaz, Oregon State, Pac-12
Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, SEC

During the first eight weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 124 FBS quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced Oct. 22. Finalists will be announced Nov. 19 and the 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced Dec. 6.

About the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 6 on ESPN and will be honored at the 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.




Follow us!