Tuberville Named To Bryant Coach Of The Year Watch List

 <A HREF= Tuberville and Oklahoma's Bob Stoops are candidates for the Bryant Coach of the Year Award.

Oct. 26, 2011

Texas Tech head coach Tommy Tuberville is one 20 Division I FBS coaches in contention for the 2011 Bryant Coach of the Year Award. The watch list was unveiled today by the 2012 Marathon Oil Corporation Paul "Bear" Bryant Awards committee of the American Heart Association.

Tuberville is a previous recipient of the award, named after famed head coach Paul "Bear" Bryant, as he earned the honor after leading the Auburn Tigers to an undefeated season in 2004.

In December, a finalists' list will be announced and comprised of five to ten coaches. Finalists will attend an awards dinner on Jan. 19, 2012 in Houston, Texas at the HYATT Regency Hotel Downtown, where the winner will be announced live. The Bryant Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor voted on after all of the bowl games are concluded.

January's event will also recognize former University of Iowa Head Football Coach Hayden Fry, who will receive the Bryant Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field during a career, allowing recipients to take their place in history alongside legends such as Paul "Bear" Bryant. Recent Lifetime Achievement recipients include Barry Switzer, Glenn "Bo" Schembechler, and Bobby Bowden.

Bryant Coach of the Year Watch List (alphabetical order):

  • Frank Beamer - Virginia Tech University
  • Bret Bielema - University of Wisconsin
  • Mark Dantonio - Michigan State University
  • Mike Gundy - Oklahoma State University
  • Brady Hoke - University of Michigan
  • Mark Hudspeth - University of Louisiana
  • Chip Kelly - University of Oregon
  • Les Miles - Louisiana State University
  • Joe Paterno - Penn State University
  • Bo Pelini - University of Nebraska
  • Chris Petersen - Boise State University
  • Bobby Petrino - University of Arkansas
  • Nick Saban - University of Alabama
  • David Shaw - Stanford University
  • Bill Snyder - Kansas State University
  • Steve Spurrier - University of South Carolina
  • Bob Stoops - University of Oklahoma
  • Kevin Sumlin - University of Houston
  • Dabo Swinney - Clemson University
  • Tommy Tuberville - Texas Tech University

The Bryant Awards honor excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke, the nation's No. 1 and No. 3 killers. Bryant himself suffered a heart attack prior to his death in 1983. Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs of the AHA. For more information, or to purchase tickets or a table for the event, contact Kristin Rodriguez at 713-610-5026 or visit www.bryantawards.com

About American Heart Association
The American Heart Association is the nation's oldest and largest voluntary health organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. Our mission is to build healthier lives by preventing, treating and defeating these diseases - America's No. 1 and No. 4 killers. We fund cutting-edge research, conduct lifesaving public and professional educational programs, and advocate to protect public health. To learn more or join us in helping all Americans, call 1-800-AHA-USA1 or visit www.heart.org.

About Marathon Oil Corporation
Marathon Oil Corporation is an international energy company engaged in exploration and production, oil sands mining and integrated gas. At the end of 2010, Marathon Oil had net proved reserves of more than 1.6 billion barrels. Based in Houston, Texas, the Company has proved reserves in North America, the North Sea and Africa. For more information, visit the Company's website at http://www.marathonoil.com.




Follow us!