Harrell, Crabtree Headed To Home Depot ESPNU Awards Show

Graham Harrell and Michael Crabtree

Graham Harrell and Michael Crabtree
Football Home

Kingsbury Announces Summer Football Camp Dates

Jackson Agrees to Free Agent Deal With Oakland Raiders

Morales Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

NCAA.com Wire
Email this to a friend

Nov. 24, 2008

LUBBOCK, Texas - Senior quarterback Graham Harrell has been named a finalist for the Davey O' Brien and Maxwell Awards while sophomore receiver Michael Crabtree has been named a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award and both will be in attendance for the 2008 Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show in Orlando on Dec. 11.

Harrell, a senior from Ennis, will be making his first ever trip to Orlando for the awards show as he has been named a finalist for both the Davey O'Brien and Maxwell Awards. The Davey O'Brien Award is presented annually to the top quarterback in the country from the Davey O'Brien Foundation in Fort Worth. Harrell's competition will be very familiar as the other two finalists are Colt McCoy of Texas and Sam Bradford of Oklahoma.

Harrell will be up for the top award of the night as the Maxwell Award is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate player. The Maxwell Award is presented annually by the Maxwell Football Club in Roslyn, Penn. The 2007 Maxwell winner was Tim Teabow of Florida and he will look to take away his second consecutive trophy as he was also named one of three finalists. Colt McCoy of Texas rounded out the list.

Sophomore wide receiver Michael Crabtree will look to take home the Biletnikoff Award, which honors the nation's top wide receiver, for the second consecutive year as he won the honor back in 2007. Crabtree's competition for the award all hail from the powerful Big 12 Conference as he joins Oklahoma State's Dez Bryant and Missouri's Jeremy Maclin. The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club in Tallahassee, Fla.

The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit, will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney's Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort live on ESPN beginning at 6:30 p.m. CT.



The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Red Carpet Show, hosted by ESPNU's Lowell Galindo and Tom Luginbill with Mike Gleason and Melissa Knowles reporting, will air on ESPNU from 6:30-7:30 p.m. and following the show at 9:30 p.m.

The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards features the live presentation of nine awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

New this year is a Web site dedicated to the show:www.espncollegefootballawards.com. The site features the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

The NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award will be presented to Florida State University coach Bobby Bowden, who is in his 33rd season with the Seminoles. Bowden, who was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2006, has 381 career victories, making him the second all-time winningest Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I) coach.


Follow us!