No. 26 Men's Golf Tees Off In The San Diego Classic On Monday Morning

March 10, 2013

Season Statistics   |   Golf Stat Rankings   |   San Diego Classic Live Scoring

The No. 26 Texas Tech Men's Golf team returns to the links on Monday morning as the Red Raiders will tee off in the 2013 Lamkin Grips San Diego Classic.

The tournament is being co-hosted by San Diego State and San Diego and will be played March 11-12 at the San Diego Country Club (par 72, 7,033 yards).

This year's field includes four teams ranked in the Top 50 in this week's GolfStat.com rankings. The No. 26 Red Raiders will be playing in their fourth consecutive tournament with league foe and No. 19 TCU while No. 27 Missouri and No. 49 Arizona State round out the Top 50 competition in San Diego. The tournament will also boast four players ranked in the Top 50 nationally and nine from the Top 100.

Texas Tech will turn to senior captain Finley Ewing, who enters this week's tournament as the No. 62 ranked player in the nation. Ewing leads Texas Tech with a 71.4 stroke average over 21 rounds and has posted four Top 5 finishes. Ewing posted back-to-back Top 5 finishes in Tech's last two tournaments, including an impressive fifth place finish at the Prestige at PGA West.

The Red Raiders will play two rounds on Monday with the first round scheduled for an 8:30 a.m. (PT) shotgun start. Round two is scheduled for 1:15 p.m. (PT) while the third and final round will be played on Tuesday beginning at 8 a.m. (PT).

For live coverage of the 2013 Lamkin Grips San Diego Classic, log on to www.golfstat.com.

About The Tournament
The San Diego Classic is entering its sixth season and third as a two-day, 54-hole event. The tournament has served primarily as an opportunity for the local San Diego schools to compete against one another. This is the fourth time and the third year in a row that the San Diego Classic will take place at the San Diego Country Club. The inaugural event took place at the Chula Vista course, but then moved to the La Jolla Country Club in 2009 and then to The Farms Golf Club in Rancho Santa Fe, Calif., in 2010. It was a one-day, 36-hole tournament up until 2011. The University of San Diego took home the team title in 2008 and 2010, Point Loma Nazarene won in 2009 and SMU finished first in 2011, followed by Washington in 2012.




Follow us!