Ewing Named All-Big 12 And Scholar Athlete of the Year

Finley Ewing IV honored for his work on and off the course by the Big 12.

May 1, 2013

Senior men's golfer Finley Ewing IV has been honored by the Big 12 coaches with both All-Big and Scholar-Athlete of the Year accolades, the league announced on Wednesday afternoon.

Ewing is one of the 10 golfers to earn All-Big 12 honors and the lone representative from Texas Tech. Additionally, he took home the nod for top scholar-athlete joining Brandon Stone of Texas who claimed both the player and newcomer of the year awards.

"This is a tremendous honor for Finley," head coach Greg Sands said. "He has had a tremendous senior season and works just as hard in the classroom. It's nice to see his effort rewarded by the coaches."

Ewing has been Texas Tech's top player all season and currently leads the squad with a 72.4 stroke average over 37 rounds. He has logged six top five finishes the season and seven in the top 10. His tournament victory at the Morris Williams Invitational (hosted by the University of Texas) in Austin marked his first career tournament win. In the classroom, Ewing has compiled a 3.3 cumulative GPA and recently was named First-Team Academic All-Big 12. He will graduate later this month with a degree in management.

Texas, the 2013 Big 12 Champion, and Oklahoma State each placed three golfers on the All-Big 12 team followed by two from TCU. Texas Tech and Iowa State each had one student-athlete on the 10-member team.

The Red Raiders now await their postseason destination on Monday when the NCAA Regional fields are announced. Tech is expected to earn its 12th consecutive NCAA Tournament bid.

All-Big 12 Team
Scott Fernandez, Iowa State
Julien Brun, TCU
Pontus Gad, TCU
Talor Gooch, Oklahoma State
Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State
Ian Davis, Oklahoma State
Brandon Stone, Texas
Cody Gribble, Texas
Kramer Hickok, Texas
Finley Ewing IV, Texas Tech

Player of the Year
Brandon Stone, Texas

Newcomer of the Year
Brandon Stone, Texas

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Finley Ewing IV, Texas Tech

Coach of the Year
John Fields, Texas



Fearless Fans Live Here

Follow us!