Rotating image
Red Raiders Draw Eighth Seed Out West

Hole No. 17 at last year's NCAA Championships in Williamsburg, Va.
Hole No. 17 at last year's NCAA Championships in Williamsburg, Va.

May 5, 2008

LUBBOCK, Texas - The Texas Tech men's golf team has been selected to the NCAA West Regional, announced by the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee on Monday. The Red Raiders are the No. 8 seed and will be playing in their seventh-consecutive regional event, 11th overall.

Tech and the remaining 26 central squads will do battle at Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash., May 15-17. The West bracket contains nine of the nation's top 25 programs, including USC (2), UCLA (4), Florida State (9), defending National Champion Stanford (11), Clemson (14), UNLV (17), North Carolina (20), Texas Tech (22) and Central Florida (25). Other Big 12 teams in the West region are Texas, Oklahoma and Kansas State. The Red Raiders are the highest-seeded Big 12 squad.

Three 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 15-17. A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals. The championships will be conducted May 28-31 on the Kampen Course at the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex in West Lafayette, Ind. Purdue University is the host institution for this year's championships.

USC's Jamie Lovemark is the defending individual national champion from last year.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Gold Mountain Golf Club - Bremerton, Washington
Hosted by University of Washington

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Southern California
3. Florida State (Atlantic Coast Conference)
4. Stanford
5. Clemson
7. North Carolina
8. Texas Tech
9. Central Florida
10. Arizona State (Pacific-10 Conference)
11. San Diego State
12. Texas
13. LSU
14. Oregon State
15. Pepperdine
16. Oregon
17. California
18. St. Mary's (California)
19. Kentucky
20. Wisconsin
21. Washington
22. Oklahoma
23. Kansas State
24. San Diego (West Coast Conference)
25. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)
26. Navy (The Patriot League)
27. Columbia (Ivy Group)

Individuals: 1. Troy Merritt, Boise State 2. Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount 3. Tarquin Macmanus, Arizona 4. Jason D'Amore, Loyola Marymount 5. Nathan Stamey, North Carolina-Greensboro 6. Jimmy Lytle, Elon



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders