New Mexico Upsets No. 58 Texas Tech, 4-3

Felipe Soares won a pair of matches on Sunday against New Mexico.

March 3, 2013

LUBBOCK, Texas – Riaan Du Toit outlasted Francisco Zambon to lift New Mexico over No. 58 Texas Tech, 4-3, at the McLeod Tennis Center on Sunday.

Du Toit took the first set, 6-4, before giving way to Zambon, 6-1, in the second set. It looked like Zambon was set to get the victory, as he took the early lead in the third, 5-1, but Du Toit battled back to tie the match, 6-6 and send it to the tiebreaker. Du Toit finally secured the 6-4, 1-6, 7-6 (7-3) win at No. 5, giving the Lobos the deciding point for the team victory.

The day was started with a highly contested doubles point that saw Texas Tech’s Felipe Soares and Jeff Bryan edge Jadon Phillips and Du Toit, 8-4. UNM’s Conor Berg and Andrew Van Der Vyver then topped Vitor Manzini and Gabriel Dias, 8-5 at No. 1 doubles.

The point was decided at No. 3, where it came down to the tiebreaker, where Mads Hegelund and James Hignett pulled out the victory over Hugo Dojas and Raphael Pfister, 9-8 (7-0).

Berg then topped Dojas at No. 3 singles, 6-1, 6-4 to give the Lobos a quick 2-0 lead in the match.

Texas Tech answered back with Raphael Pfister’s win over Hegelund 6-2, 6-1 at NO. 6 and Felipe Soares’ win at No. 4 over Mitch McDaniels, 6-3, 6-4, tying the match, 2-2.

New Mexico retook the lead, 3-2, on Samir Iftikhar’s win over Manzini, 6-4, 6-2 at No. 1 singles, but Texas Tech Dias answered with a 6-4, 7-5 triumph over Phillips to set up the drama at No. 5

New Mexico 4, Texas Tech 3
Lubbock, Texas (McLeod Tennis Center)

1. #103 Samir Iftikhar (UNM) def. Vitor Manzini (TTU) 6-4, 6-2
2. Gabriel Dias (TTU) def. Jadon Phillips (UNM) 6-4, 7-5
3. Conor Berg (UNM) def. Hugo Dojas (TTU) 6-1, 6-4
4. Felipe Soares (TTU) def. Mitch McDaniels (UNM) 6-3, 6-4
5. Riaan Du Toit (UNM) def. Francisco Zambon (TTU) 6-4, 1-6, 7-6 (7-3)
6. Raphael Pfister (TTU) def. Mads Hegelund (UNM) 6-2, 6-1

1. Conor Berg/Andrew Van Der Vyver (UNM) def. Vitor Manzini/Gabriel Dias (TTU) 8-5
2. Felipe Soares/Jeff Bryan (TTU) def. Jadon Phillips/Riaan Du Toit (UNM) 8-4
3. Mads Hegelund/James Hignett (UNM) def. Hugo Dojas/Raphael Pfister (TTU) 9-8 (7-0)
Match Notes:
New Mexico 6-7, Texas Tech 7-4
Order of finish:
Doubles (2,1,3); Singles (3,6,4,1,2,5)
T-3:57 A-155



Follow us!