Rotating image
Soares, Zambon Roll Into Third Round In Midland

Felipe Soares advanced to the third round on Friday in Midland.

September 13, 2013

MIDLAND, Texas – Texas Tech’s Felipe Soares and Francisco Zambon each advanced to the third round on Friday at the Midland Racquet Club Collegiate Invitational at the Midland Racquet Club to open the 2013-14 season  for the Red  Raiders.

Soares and  Zambon are two of four Red Raiders competing in Midland, joining Evan Nix and Nick Melott.

Soares, who is seeded fourth in the event, received a first round bye and then dropped TCU’s Will Stein, 6-1, 4-6, 6-1 to advance to the third round. Soares will meet Boise State’s Brian Foley on Saturday for the right to advance to the quarterfinals.

Zambon, who also received a first-round bye, topped UT Arlington’s Daniel Echeverry, 6-3, 6-2, to reach the third round. Zambon will face sixth seeded Mads Hegelund of New Mexico on Saturday.

Nix and Melott were not as luck as both lost in the first round. Melott rebounded in the first round of consolation with a win over Jocelyn DeVilliers of Wichita State, 6-3, 5-7, 1-0 (10-8).

“Today was a great opportunity for us to see four of our players compete,” said assistant coach James Wilson. “You never know what to expect in the first tournament of the year, but overall it was a good day. Fran (Zambon) played solid and is definitely showing signs of improvement. We look for everyone to continue to build and improve.”

Play resumes at 9 a.m. Saturday at the Midland Racquet Club.

Midland Racquet Club Collegiate
Friday / Midland, Texas
First Round

Marek Pesiscka (UT Arlington) def. Evan Nix (TT) 7-5, 5-7, 6-3
Guillermo Nicol (Wichita State) def. Nick Melott (TT) 6-3, 6-1
Second Round

Francisco Zambon (TT) def. Daniel Echeverry (UT Arlington) 6-3, 6-2
Felipe Soares (TT) def. Will Stein (TCU) 6-1, 4-6, 6-1
Consolation First Round

Nick Melott (TT) def. Jocelyn DeVilliers (Wichita State) 6-3, 5-7, 1-0 (10-8)
Nicklas Wingord (Abilene Christian) def. Evan Nix (TT) 5-7, 6-3, 1-0 (10-3)
First Round

Hayden Sabatka / Rodolfo Juaregui (New Mexico) def. Francisco Zambon / Felipe Soares (TT) 8-6
Jason Proctor / Nico Agritelley (Abilene Christian) def. Evan Nix / Nick Melott (TT) 8-3



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders