Rotating image
Soares Wins Flight A Singles At Rice

Felipe Soares won the Flight A singles title on Sunday at Rice.

September 22, 2013

HOUSTON – Felipe Soares is picking up right where he left off last spring.

The Texas Tech sophomore rolled through the field and captured the Flight A title with an impressive 6-4, 6-1 win over Tulane’s Dominik Koepfer on Sunday in the finals of the 2013 Wyndham Houston Medical Center Rice Fall Invitational.

Texas Tech freshman Maxime Hinnisdaels was not as lucky, as he fell 7-6, 6-1 in the Flight B finals to Rice’s Max Andrews.

Francisco Zambon and Carlos Di Laura teamed to capture the Flight B doubles crown with an impressive 6-1 win over Zachary Yablon and David Warren of Rice.

Other winners on Sunday were Zambon, Carlos Di Laura and Evan Nix. Zambon won the Flight B Fifth Place match, while Napolitano won the Flight C consolation finals. Di Laura and Nix picked up a wins in Flight D round robin play.

In doubles, Hinnisdaels and Dojas won third place in Flight A doubles after topping Srikar Alla and Max Andrews of Rice, 6-5.

“Felipe competed this weekend. That is two solid weekends in a row for him,” said assistant coach James Wilson. “We had some mixed results across the board. We definitely have some things to work on.”

2013 Wyndham Houston Medical Center Rice Fall Invitational
Sunday’s Results / at Jake Hess Stadium
Flight A Finals: Felipe Soares (TT) def. Dominik Koepfer (Tulane) 6-4, 6-1
Flight A Consolation Finals:
Srikar Alla (Rice) def. Hugo Dojas (TT) 6-0, Retired (Injury)
Flight B Finals:
Max Andrews (Rice) def. Maxime Hinnisdaels (TT) 7-6, 6-1
Flight B Fifth Place:
Francisco Zambon (TT) def. Alex Van Cott (Tulane), 6-4, 6-1
Flight C Third Place:
David Warren (Rice) def. Jolan Cailleau (TT), 5-6 (4-7), 6-3, 6-2
Flight C Consolation Finals:
Julio Olaya (SMU) def. Andre Napolitano (TT) 6-5 (7-3), 6-2
Flight D:
Evan Nix (TT) def. Leif Berger (Rice) 6-3, 6-4
Flight D:
Carlos Di Laura (TT) def. Takuma Ohashi (Tulane) 7-6, 6-4
Flight A Third Place:
Maxime Hinnisdaels / Hugo Dojas (TT) def. Srikar Alla / Max Andrews (Rice) 6-5
Flight B Finals:
Francisco Zambon / Carlos Di Laura (TT) def. Zachary Yablon / David Warren (Rice) 6-1



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders