Oct. 5, 1997

Men's Tennis Finishes up Bellsouth Mobility Classic

LAFAYETTE, La.-The Texas Tech men's tennis team completed its competition schedule Sunday at the 21st annual BellSouth Mobility Classic, held at the University of Southwestern Louisiana this weekend. Overall, the Red Raiders won 10 total matches and advanced players to the second round in each of the divisions of the 13-team invitational featuring three top-50 teams including LSU, Boise State and Texas.

Sophomore Adam Baranowski concluded the weekend with Texas Tech's best weekend performance as the 5-10 156-pounder won his first three matches and advanced to the quarterfinals (final-four) of his 32-competitor Flight B singles draw. The No. 3 seeded Baranowski lost 6-4, 7-5 in the quarterfinals to No. 2 seeded Jonas Samuelson of LSU.

Junior Petar Danolic also shined in the competition as the 5-11 165-pounder won his first two matches in the Flight A singles division and advanced to third round play where he lost a 6-4, 6-1 decision to LSU's Tom Hand. After losing his first match, No. 7 seed senior Tylir Jimenez also came on strong in the Flight A singles division while winning two consecutive matches before losing in the third round of the consolation bracket. Sophomore Ryan Shupe came away with a victory in the Flight A singles division along with sophomore Carey Biorkman who won a match in the Flight B singles draw.

Tech's doubles teams won one match on the weekend as the No. 2 seeded team of Jimenez and Shupe advanced to second round action. Tech's next men's tennis competition is next weekend at the All-American Classic at the University of Texas in Austin.

Texas Tech Men's Tennis Results

(full weekend) Flight A Singles First Round: Petar Danolic (TTU) def. Steven Bundell (NE Louisiana) 6-3, 6-3 Henrik Tofft (Arkansas) def. Ryan Shupe (TTU) 6-3, 3-6, 6-1 Martin Michalowski (Minnesota) def. Tylir Jimenez (TTU) 6-2, 7-5 Second Round Winner's Bracket: Petar Danolic (TTU) def. Efe Unstundag, Rice 6-3, 7-5, 6-4 Second Round Consolation Bracket: Ryan Shupe (TTU) def. Mattias Larssen (Texas-Arlington) 3-0, default Tylir Jimenez (TTU) def. Dirk Reinhardt (Southern Miss) 6-4, 7-6 Third Round Consolation Bracket: Alex Gamez (NE Louisiana) def. Ryan Shupe (TTU) 6-3, 6-0 Tylir Jimenez (TTU) def. Marc Serrilli (Arkansas) 6-2, 6-1 Daniel Iniesta (Arkansas-Little Rock) def. Tylir Jimenez (TTU) 6-1, 1-6, 6-3 Third Round Winner's Bracket: Tom Hand (LSU) def. Petar Danolic (TTU) 6-4, 6-1 Flight B Singles First Round: Adam Baranowski (TTU) def. Kirk Fisher (LSU) 6-3, 6-3 Martin Kristoffersen (Minnesota) def. Carey Biorkman (TTU) 6-4, 6-2 Second Round Winners' Bracket: Adam Baranowski (TTU) def. Felipe McClusky (Arkansas-Little Rock) 2-6, 6-3, 6-4 Second Round Consolation Bracket: Carey Biorkman (TTU) def. Bernard Kaczorowski (Southwestern Louisiana) 6-0, 3-6, 6-0 Third Round Consolation Bracket: Juan Ros (Arkansas-Little Rock) def. Carey Biorkman (TTU) 6-2, 7-6 Third Round Winner's Bracket: Adam Baranowski (TTU) def. Matt Bere (TCU) 6-1, 6-2 Quarterfinal-Winner's Bracket: Jonas Samuelson (LSU) def. Adam Baranowski (TTU) 6-4, 7-5 Doubles: First Round: Fontes/Diniz (SW Louisiana) def. Adam Baranowski/Petar Danolic (TTU) 8-1 Tylir Jimenez/Ryan Shupe (TTU) def. Thompson/Gilbert (Boise State) 9-8 (6) Second Round: Tofft/Phelan def. Tylir Jimenez/Ryan Shupe (TTU) by default


Follow us!