Lady Raiders Enter Elite Group

Another honor for Texas Tech's Coach Marsha Sharp as she and former Lady Raider Sheryl Swoopes are inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.

Another honor for Texas Tech's Coach Marsha Sharp as she and former Lady Raider Sheryl Swoopes are inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.
Women's Basketball Home

Lady Raider Basketball Season Tickets Now Available

Tech Places 39 On Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team

Swoopes Named One Of WNBA's Top 20 Players

NCAA.com Wire
Email this to a friend

Jan. 12, 2000

WACO, Texas -- Texas Tech head women's basketball coach Marsha Sharp and former Lady Raider All-America Sheryl Swoopes were among the class of this year's seven inductees into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.

Sharp, the school's winningest coach, and Swoopes were joined by former NFL official Red Cashion, Southern Methodist University and NFL running back Eric Dickerson, auto racer Jim Hall, rodeo great Ty Murray and NBA All-Pro David Robinson of the San Antonio Spurs.

The class was officially inducted at Tuesday night's banquet at the hall's headquarters in Waco.

Other Texas Tech sports greats that are members of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame are Donny Anderson, 1984, Pete Cawthon, 1961 and E.J. Holub, 1982.

ERIC DICKERSON. Led Sealy High School to a state title in 1978. Third on SWC career rushing list with 4,450 yards at SMU from 1979-82. Consensus All-America RB in 1982. NFL career from 1983-1993. Set record with 2,105 yards in 1984 with LA Rams. Third on NFL career rushing list with 13,259. Seven 1,000 yard seasons.

JIM HALL. Won the U.S. Road Racing title in 1964. Won the Sebring 12 hour and Road America 500 in 1965 during a string of 16 victories in 21 starts for Team Chaparral. His engineering firsts include developing aluminum and fiberglass chassis material, controlled downforce for improved performance, automatic transmission for racing. Managed Team Chapparral to 2 Indy 500 victories in 1978 and 1980.

TY MURRAY. Won a record 7 PRCA World All-Around Cowboy Rodeo Championships. Set a record for single season earnings with $297,896 in 1993. Ranks third on the All-Time PRCA Career Earnings List with $1,509,987. Youngest cowboy to break the 1 million dollar mark (age 23).

DAVID ROBINSON. 8 time All-Star with the San Antonio Spurs. 1989-90 Rookie of the Year. NBA MVP in 1994-95. Member of three U.S. Olympic basketball teams in 1988, 1992, 1996. Chosen as one of the 50 greatest basketball players in NBA history. Led Spurs to 1998-99 NBA Championship. Career totals ? 16,715 points, 7,881 rebounds and 2,323 blocks.

MARSHA SHARP. Texas Tech head women?s basketball coach with a career record of 376-125. Won or shared 5 SWC titles. 1997-98 Big 12 Champs and named Big 12 Coach of the Year. Her players have a 99% graduation rate. Coached the Texas Tech Lady Raiders to a national championship in 1993. Taken Lady Raiders to the post-season 13 times in 16 years.

SHERYL SWOOPES. Led the Texas Tech LadyRaiders to the 1993 NCAA National Championship and was named NCAA Player of the Year. Member of the 1996 U.S. Women's Olympic team that won the gold medal. Named to the WNBA First Team in 1998 and 1999. Swoopes was a member of the Houston Comets three-peat championship team in 1997, 1998 and 1999.




Follow us!