Rotating image
Texas Tech's Marsha Sharp Named Coach of the Year Award Finalist




Feb. 24, 2000

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech Lady Raider head coach Marsha Sharp has been named one of 15 finalists for the Naismith Women's College Basketball Coach of the Year Award.

The winners of the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball, will be honored in Atlanta, Ga., on April 8, 2000.

Despite the loss of three key senior players from her 1998-99 sweet 16 squad, Sharp has led the Lady Raiders to a 22-3 mark and a tie for first place in the Big 12 race with two conference games remaining this season. Since dropping the first two games in league play, Texas Tech has won 11 of its last 12 to put the team in contention for its third straight regular season conference championship.

Naismith Women's College Basketball Coach of the Year Award finalists:

Marsha Sharp, Texas Tech

Geno Auiremma, Connecticut

Leon Barmore, Louisiana Tech

Joan Bonvicini, Arizona

Joe Ciampi, Auburn

Bill Fennelly, Iowa State

Mark French, UC-Santa Barbara

Gail Goestenkors, Duke

Sue Gunter, LSU

Andy Landers, Georgia

Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame

Rene Portland, Penn State

Vivian Stringer, Rutgers

Pat Summit, Tennessee

Kay Yow, North Carolina State



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders