Rotating image
Swoopes Named a Nominee for WNBA All-Decade Team

Sheryl Swoopes has been named a nominee for the WNBA All-Decade Team.
Sheryl Swoopes has been named a nominee for the WNBA All-Decade Team.

April 27, 2006

NEW YORK - With the WNBA's 10th Anniversary season set to tip off on May 20, 2006, the league today announced the names of 30 nominees for the 10 coveted spots on the WNBA All-Decade Team. Former Texas Tech standout and current Houston Comet Sheryl Swoopes was one of the nominees named. The list of players - selected by a panel of national media, coaches, former players and WNBA personnel - includes seven of the league's original players and represents the very best in women's professional basketball.

Voting for the WNBA All-Decade Team will begin this Friday (April 28), and will be conducted among fans, select national and WNBA-market media, and current WNBA players and coaches. Fans are encouraged to vote by logging onto The All-Decade Team will be announced in June and honored at the 2006 WNBA All-Star Game set to take place at Madison Square Garden in New York on July 12.

The league's official Web site will feature a special section dedicated to the All-Decade Team, complete with player histories, statistics and video highlights of each nominee. The new History section, in which the voting will take place, may also serve as a resource for fans and media alike, providing career statistical leaders, award winners, season recaps and more. Fans will be able to vote for their All-Decade Team players once per day (daily).

"We view the celebration of our 10th anniversary as a way to mark the accomplishments of our past and embrace our vision for the future," said WNBA President Donna Orender. "The selection of the WNBA All-Decade Team will enable our fans and the league to honor the players who have contributed so much to the growth of the WNBA and of women's basketball."

Members of the All-Decade team will be selected on the basis of their overall contribution to the WNBA, with consideration given to on-court performance and ability, leadership, sportsmanship and community service, as well as contribution to team success and the growth of women's basketball.

In addition to selecting an All-Decade Team, the WNBA will celebrate its 10th Anniversary season by providing fans an opportunity to determine the Greatest Moments in league history and through a season-long initiative, "10 Years of Caring," where all teams will demonstrate their continued commitment to their communities.

Below is a list of the 30 nominees for the WNBA All-Decade Team.

NameWNBA Team (Current/Last)Previous Team(s)
Janeth ArcainHouston Comets (1997-Current)
Sue BirdSeattle Storm (2002-Current)
Ruthie Bolton*Sacramento Monarchs (1997-2004)
Swin CashDetroit Shock (2002-Current)
Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever (2001-Current)
Cynthia Cooper*Houston Comets (1997-2000, 2003)
Tamecka DixonHouston Comets (Current)Los Angeles Sparks (1997-2005)
Jennifer Gillom*Los Angeles Sparks (2003)Phoenix Mercury (1997-2002)
Yolanda GriffithSacramento Monarchs (1999-Current)
Becky HammonNew York Liberty (1999-Current)
Chamique HoldsclawLos Angeles Sparks (2005-Current)Washington Mystics (1999-2004)
Lauren JacksonSeattle Storm (2001-Current)
Shannon JohnsonSan Antonio Silver Stars (2004-Current)Connecticut Sun (2003), Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
Vickie JohnsonSan Antonio Silver Stars (Current)New York Liberty (1997-2005)
Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks (1997-Current)
Rebecca Lobo*Connecticut Sun (2003)Houston Comets (2002), New York Liberty (1997-2001)
Mwadi MabikaLos Angeles Sparks (1997-Current)
Taj McWilliams-FranklinConnecticut Sun (2003-Current)Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
DeLisha Milton-JonesWashington Mystics (2005-Current)Los Angeles Sparks (1999-2004)
Deanna NolanDetroit Shock (2001-Current)
Ticha PenicheiroSacramento Monarchs (1998-Current)
Nykesha SalesConnecticut Sun (2003-Current)Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
Katie SmithDetroit Shock (2005-Current)Minnesota Lynx (1999-2005)
Dawn StaleyHouston Comets (2005-Current)Charlotte Sting (1999-2005)
Andrea StinsonDetroit Shock (2005)Charlotte Sting (1997-2004)
Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets (1997-Current)
Diana TaurasiPhoenix Mercury (2004-Current)
Tina ThompsonHouston Comets (1997-Current)
Teresa Weatherspoon*Los Angeles Sparks (2004)New York Liberty (1997-2003)
Natalie Williams*Indiana Fever (2003-2005)Utah Starzz (1999-2002)




Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders