Rotating image
Women's Basketball Coaches Association Names Board of Directors




July 14, 1999

ATLANTA, Ga. - University of Illinois head coach Theresa Grentz has been named President of the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), while Texas Tech University head coach Marsha Sharp has been elected Vice President for the 1999-2000 season.

Joining Grentz and Sharp as a new member of the WBCA Executive Committee is Missouri Valley Conference Commissioner Patty Viverito, who has been named Chairperson of the Committee on Basketball Issues. Viverito replaces Dr. Charlotte West, Associate Athletic Director and Senior Women's Administrator at Southern Illinois University, who has recently retired.

Grentz replaces Carol Alfano (head coach Mills College) who served as WBCA President from 1997-99. During that time Grentz served as the association's Vice President. Sharp was elected by her peers and will become President of the WBCA in 2001.

Other members of the WBCA Executive Committee include Treasurer, Jody Rajcula (Western Connecticut State University) and Secretary, Amy Ruley (North Dakota State University). Rajcula and Ruley have held their respective positions since 1995-96.

Members of the WBCA Board of Directors Committee include: NCAA Division I/East - Wendy Larry, Old Dominion University *NCAA Division I/Mideast - Carol Ross, University of Florida NCAA Division I/Midwest - Jane Albright-Dieterle, University of Wisconsin NCAA Division I/West - Mary Hile-Nepfel, University of San Francisco NCAA Division II/Group I - Dave Smith, Bellarmine College NCAA Division II/Group II - Paula Buscher, University of Nebraska at Omaha +NCAA Division III/At-Large - Kris Huffman, De Pauw University NCAA Division III/At-Large - Yvonne Kauffman, Elizabethtown College NAIA - Cindy DeRocher, Tri-State University +Junior College/Community College - Valerie Goodwin-Colbert High School - Rhonda Farney, Georgetown High School Assistant Coaches - Mickie DeMoss, University of Tennessee Black Coaches Association - Tori Harrison, University of Minnesota Male Coaches of Women's Basketball - Rick Reeves, Southern Mississippi NCAA Division II Legislative Chair - TBD +NCAA Division III Legislative Chair - Lisa Stone, University of Wisconsin Eau Claire +Advisory Board Chair - Deborah Larkin +At-Large/WNBA - Connie Hurlbut


+New Board Member



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders