Pierson Named Pre-season Naismith Candidate

Sophomore Plenette Pierson has been named one of the pre-season candidates for the 2000-01 Naismith College Player of the Year Award.

Sophomore Plenette Pierson has been named one of the pre-season candidates for the 2000-01 Naismith College Player of the Year Award.
Women's Basketball Home

Lady Raiders Add Arella Guirantes To 2016 Signing Class

Sheryl Swoopes Inducted Into Naismith Hall Of Fame

Lady Raiders Fall to No. 4 Baylor in Big 12 Quarterfinals

NCAA.com Wire
Email this to a friend

Sept. 26, 2000

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech sophomore forward/center Plenette Pierson was selected as one of the pre-season candidates for the 2000-01 Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year Award. Jackie Bradford, Executive Director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club, announced the candidates today.

Pierson, a native of Kingwood, Texas, is the Lady Raiders' top returning player from last season. The 2000 Big 12 Freshman of the Year averaged 13.6 points and 6.9 rebounds in leading Tech to its third-straight Big 12 regular-season championship and to the NCAA Elite Eight. Pierson was also named to the 2000 NCAA Mideast Regional All-Tournament team.

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 33rd year, honors the outstanding college basketball players in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of student-athletes in basketball.

The candidates were selected by a vote of the Board of Selectors comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball analysts. Members of the board were asked to name top male and female players who are most likely to be in contention for the award.

"Both the men's and women's field's, from top to bottom, are extremely talented, " said Bradford. "The race for the Naismith Award will once again be very competitive and exciting."

Last year's Naismith Award recipients were Kenyon Martin from University of Cincinnati and Tamika Catchings from University of Tennessee. The first recipient of the male Naismith Award was Lew Alcindor (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) of UCLA in 1969. Other college player of the year recipients include many NBA standouts such as Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing, and Christian Laettner. The women's Naismith Award, first presented in 1983 to Anne Donovan of Old Dominion, includes recipients such as three-time winner Cheryl Miller of USC, two-time honorees Clarissa Davis of Texas, Chamique Holdsclaw of Tennessee and Dawn Staley of Virginia.

Svetlana Ambrosimova, Connecticut
Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt
LaQuanda Barksdale, North Carolina
Lucienne Berthieu, Old Dominion
Sue Bird, Connecticut
Juana Brown, North Carolina
Niesha Butler, Georgia Tech
Tamika Catchings, Tennessee
Camille Cooper, Purdue
Katie Douglas, Purdue
Marie Ferdinand, Louisiana State
Deanna Jackson, UAB
Schuye Larue, Virginia
Tawana McDonald, Georgia
Coco Miller, Georgia
Kelly, Miller, Georgia
Deanna Nolan, Georgia
Plenette Pierson, Texas Tech

Tasha Pointer, Rutgers
Shea Ralph, Connecticut
Sameka Randall, Tennessee
Alicia Ratay, Notre Dame
Ruth Riley, Notre Dame
Kelly Schumacher, Connecticut
Georgia Schweitzer, Duke
Michelle Snow, Tennessee
Jackie Stiles, Southwest Missouri
Tammy Sutton-Brown, Rutgers
LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State
Shaquala Williams, Oregon




Follow us!