Tech Women's Basketball Chosen Fifth In Preseason Media Poll

Lady Raiders Dickerson, Schmucker-Pharies receive votes for All-Big 12 team.

Melinda Schmucker-Pharies
and the Lady Raiders
were picked to finish
fifth in the Big 12 by
conference media.

Women's Basketball Home

Lady Raider Basketball Season Tickets Now Available

Tech Places 39 On Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team

Swoopes Named One Of WNBA's Top 20 Players

NCAA.com Wire
Email this to a friend

Nov. 2, 1999

DALLAS -- Big 12 Conference media representatives agreed with the league's head coaches by picking the Texas Tech Lady Raiders fifth in a media poll conducted in conjunction with Big 12 Basketball Media Days.

The media members picked Iowa State to win its first Big 12 Conference women's basketball title.

The Cyclones received 12 of a possible 17 first-place votes, followed by Kansas, which received two first-place votes, in second and Nebraska in third. Texas received one first-place vote and was picked fourth. Tech received the other two first-place votes and was chosen to finish fifth in the league, with Oklahoma sixth, Kansas State seventh and Colorado eighth. Missouri was picked to finish ninth, Baylor 10th, Oklahoma State 11th and Texas A&M 12th.

The only difference between the media and coaches polls was the coaches chose Oklahoma State 10th and Baylor 11th.

ISU's Stacy Frese, a 5-8 senior guard, was chosen by the media and coaches as pre-season favorite for Big 12 Conference Player of the Year. The media picked Texas A&M 5-11 junior forward Jaynetta Saunders as Newcomer of the Year. The coaches poll featured a three-way tie for newcomer of the year among Saunders, Oklahoma State's Tari Cummings and Iowa State's Gintare Cipinyte. Sabrina Scott, a 6-2 forward from Colorado, was chosen as Freshman of the Year in both polls.

Joining Frese on the Preseason All-Big 12 Conference Team is: Kansas' Lynn Pride, Texas' Edwina Brown, Nebraska's Nicole Kubik and Oklahoma's Phylesha Whaley. The same five were also picked in the coaches' poll.

The complete Big 12 Media Poll and Preseason Team follows:

1999-2000 Big 12 Conference Media Women's Basketball Preseason Poll


 1. Iowa State (12)   198

 2. Kansas (2)        171

 3. Nebraska          162

 4. Texas (1)         155

 5. Texas Tech (2)    153

 6. Oklahoma          107

 7. Kansas State       94

 8. Colorado           85

 9. Missouri           58

10. Baylor             65

11. Oklahoma State     52

12. Texas A&M          26

1999-2000 Big 12 Conference Media Women's Basketball Preseason Team
Preseason All-Big 12 Team

Stacy Frese, Iowa StateG5-8SrCedar Rapids, Iowa
Lynn Pride, KansasG/F6-2SrArlington, Texas
Edwina Brown, TexasF5-10SrLockhart, Texas
Nicole Kubik, NebraskaG5-10SrCambridge, Neb.
Phylesha Whaley, OklahomaF5-10SrSlaton, Texas

(Others Receiving Votes: Megan Taylor, Iowa State; Melinda Schmucker-Pharies, Texas Tech; Nicky Ramage, Kansas State; Prissy Sharpe, Texas A&M; LaNeishea Caufield, Oklahoma; Jennifer Crow, Oklahoma State; Julie Helm, Missouri, Keitha Dickerson, Texas Tech; Gintare Cipinyte, Iowa State; Amanda Lassiter, Missouri)

Player of the Year:

Stacy Frese, Iowa State G5-8SrCedar Rapids, Iowa

(Others Receiving Votes: Lynn Pride, Kansas; Edwina Brown, Texas; Phylesha Whaley, Oklahoma)

Newcomer of the Year:

Jaynetta Saunders, Texas A&MF5-11JrLouisville, Ky./Belleville (Ill.) Area College

(Others Receiving Votes: Gintare Cipinyte, Iowa State; Tari Cummings, Oklahoma State; Amanda Lassiter, Missouri; Casey Leonhardt, Nebraska)

Freshman of the Year:

Sabrina Scott, ColoradoF6-2FrLake Oswego, Ore./Lakeridge HS

(Others Receiving Votes: Plenette Pierson, Texas Tech; Holly Bordewyk, Iowa State; Stephanie Jones, Nebraska; Erica Junod, Iowa State; Jadrea Seeley, Oklahoma; Tai Dillard, Texas)


Follow us!