Rotating image
No. 24 Lady Raiders Close Fall at Landfall Tradition

Oct. 25, 2012

Live Stats  |  2012-13 Statistics  |  video camera Tournament Preview

LUBBOCK, Texas - The 24th-ranked Texas Tech women's golf team closes out its fall schedule this weekend when the Lady Raiders tee off Friday morning at the Landfall Tradition held at the Landfall Country Club in Wilmington, N.C.

Annually one of the top collegiate tournaments of the season, the three-day event boasts several of the country's top programs as 11 of the 17 participating teams are ranked in the top 30 of the latest Golfweek Magazine poll.

Tech will play 18 holes per day in the 54-hole format that also includes fellow Big 12 foes No. 17 Oklahoma State and No. 28 Iowa State. The Lady Raiders are returning to the tournament for the first time since 2010 when they finished 16th overall.

After opening the year with a commanding victory at the Ptarmigan Ram Classic, Tech has placed eighth and fourth in its last two tournaments at the Windy City Collegiate and the Suzie Maxwell Berning Classic.

Kim Kaufman has been Tech's highest finisher in all three tournaments as the senior has recorded two top-five performances en route to a team-leading 72.0 stroke average. The Clark, S.D. native enters this weekend ranked 19th in the latest Golfweek individual poll.

She will be part of head coach JoJo Robertson's fourth-different lineup this year as Hannah Arnold, Beverly Mendoza, Elin Arvidsson, and Kimmy Hill will all make the trip. Hill is coming off two-straight top-25 finishes to start her collegiate career.

Mendoza will be the first Lady Raider to begin the opening round Friday morning as she is set to tee off at 7:30 a.m. CT from the 10th hole.

Dates: Friday-Sunday, Oct. 26-28, 2012
Format: 54 holes of stroke play - 18 holes per day
Site: Landfall Country Club - Wilmington, N.C.
Par and Yardage: Par 72, 6,138 yards
Host School: UNC Wilmington
2011 Champion: Purdue
2011 Medalist: Paula Reto, Purdue
Tournament Field (Golfweek ranking): Arizona (4), Duke (5), N.C. State (11), Michigan State (12), Oklahoma State (17), Notre Dame (19), Northwestern (20), Texas Tech (24), Iowa State (28), Mississippi (30), Ohio State (37), South Carolina (50), Wake Forest (52), Florida State (63), UNC Wilmington (76), UNC Greensboro (128).



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders