Nov. 5, 1997

Big 12 Conference Announces 1997 All-Conference Soccer Teams

DALLAS, Texas -- Led by nationally ranked teams and All-Americans, the second All-Big 12 Conference women's soccer teams were announced today by the league office. The all-conference teams were voted on by the league's head coaches.

Bryn Blalack, a senior midfielder from Texas A&M, was selected as the 1997 Big 12 Player of the Year. Last season, she was named co-player of the year along with Nebraska's Kari Uppinghouse. For the season, Blalack leads the fourth-ranked Aggies in scoring with 32 points on 15 goals and two assists. She heads the A&M career charts in three different categories. Blalack, a native of Carrollton, Texas, has collected 187 points, 77 goals, and 376 shots on goal. She is currently third on the school list in career assists with 33.

Rookie of the Year honors go to Texas A&M defender Claire Elliott. The freshman from Dallas, Texas, leads an A&M defense that has allowed only 14 goals in 18 games in '97. For her efforts, Elliott was also named to the All-Big 12 first team.

Cathy Klein of Iowa State and G. Guerrieri of Texas A&M have been chosen as Co-Coaches of the Year. Klein led the Cyclones to an impressive overall record of 12-8 in only their second full season of varsity soccer. Guerrieri guided the Aggies to their highest ranking ever at No. 3 in three different polls earlier in the season. Texas A&M currently is ranked fourth heading into the Big 12 Soccer Tournament.

The second annual Big 12 Women's Soccer Tournament kicks off Thursday, Nov. 6 as No. 3 seed Baylor faces sixth-seed Iowa State at 5 p.m. (CST). Fourth-seed Texas squares off against No. 5 Colorado in the second game on Thursday at 7:30 p.m. Second-seed Nebraska, last year's tournament winner, will face the winner of the Baylor/Iowa State game at 5 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 7 followed by No. 1 Texas A&M against the winner of the UT/CU game. The title game will be Sunday, Nov. 9 at 1:30 p.m. Fox Sports Net will broadcast the title game on a tape-delayed basis. Tournament action will be held at the Blossom Soccer Stadium in San Antonio, Texas.

The 1997 Soccer Academic All-Big 12 Team will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 5.

Following is a list of the 1997 Big 12 Women's Soccer All-Conference teams.

First Team
Player,             School      Pos.
Melanie Wilson,     Texas A&M   GK
Claire Elliott,     Texas A&M   D
Tanya Franck,       Nebraska    D
Sharolta Nonen,     Nebraska    D
Jenny Benson,       Nebraska    MF
Bryn Blalack,       Texas A&M   MF
Isabelle Morneau,   Nebraska    MF
Kari Uppinghouse,   Nebraska    MF
Lindsay Eddleman,   Nebraska    F
Kim Engesser,       Nebraska    F
Courtney Saunders,  Baylor      F
Second Team
Player,             School      Pos.
Becky Hornbacher,   Nebraska    GK
Emily Elias,        Texas A&M   D
Ashley Fendley,     Texas A&M   D
Barb Lavergne,      Iowa State  D
Nicole Ramirez,     Texas       MF
Lindsey Rector,     Iowa State  MF
Diana Rowe,         Texas A&M   MF
Molly Cameron,      Baylor      F
Kristy Frantz,       Texas Tech  F
Jo Hinks,           Iowa State  F
Nikki Thole,        Missouri    F
Player of the Year -- Bryn Blalack, Texas A&M
Rookie of the Year -- Claire Elliott, Texas A&M
Co-Coaches of the Year -- Cathy Klein, Iowa State and G. Guerrieri, Texas A&M


Follow us!