Mar. 7, 1997

Red Raider Softball Teams Hosts Second Annual Tournament

LUBBOCK, Texas -- The Texas Tech softball team will host the Red Raider Invitational this weekend. It will be the second year for the event.

Fifteen teams will be divided into three pools with play beginning on Saturday at 10 a.m. at the Berl Huffman Complex. Teams in Pool A include Barton Community College, Bellevue University, San Jacinto College, Schreiner College and Vernon Junior College. Teams in Pool B include Cisco Junior College, Lon Morris College, Eastern Arizona College, Mississippi College, Pratt Community College and the University of Texas-Permian Basin.

Pools A and B will compete in a round robin format on Saturday and then compete in a double elimination tournament on Sunday. Games on Sunday will begin at 9 a.m.

Teams in Pool C include Division I Oklahoma City University, Purdue, New Mexico State and Texas Tech. They will compete in round robin games on Saturday and a double elimination tournament on Sunday, beginning at 11 a.m.

All games will be played on each field at the Berl Huffman Complex. An awards ceremony will follow the final games on Sunday, which are set to begin at 5 p.m. Admission is free.

"This year we have a strong tournament field for ourselves and the teams in Pools A and B. It should be a great tournament for our team and our softball fans," Texas Tech head coach Renee Luers-Gillispie said.

Admission is free.

Pool A Teams
Barton Community College
Bellevue University
San Jacinto College
Schreiner College
Vernon Junior College

Pool B Teams
Cisco Junior College
Lon Morris College
Eastern Arizona College
Mississippi College
Pratt Community College
Texas-Permian Basin

Pool C Teams
Texas Tech
Oklahoma City
New Mexico State

Saturday, March 8

Field 1
10:00 a.m.    Bellevue vs. Vernon
11:30 a.m.    Schreiner vs. Vernon
1:00 p.m.     San Jacinto vs. Barton
2:30 p.m.     Schreiner vs. Bellevue
4:00 p.m.     Schreiner vs. Barton
5:30 p.m.     Vernon vs. Barton
Field 2
10:00 a.m.    MIssissippi vs. Eastern Arizona
11:30 a.m.    Cisco vs. Pratt
2:30 p.m.     Cisco vs. Texas-Permian Basin
4:00 p.m.     Eastern Arizona vs. Pratt
5:30 p.m.     Eastern Arizona vs. Cisco
Field 3
10:00 a.m.    Lon Morris vs. Texas-Permian Basin
11:30 a.m.    Mississippi vs. Texas-Permian Basin
1:00 p.m.     Pratt vs. Lon Morris
2:30 p.m.     Mississippi vs. Lon Morris
4:00 p.m.     San Jacinto vs. Vernon
5:30 p.m.     San Jacinto vs. Bellevue
Field 4
10:00 a.m.    Oklahoma City vs. New Mexico State
11:30 a.m.    Texas Tech vs. New Mexico State
1:00 p.m.     Purdue vs. Oklahoma City
2:30 p.m.     Texas Tech vs. Oklahoma City
4:00 p.m.     New Mexico State vs. Purdue
5:30 p.m.     Texas Tech vs. Purdue

Sunday, March 9

Championship Competition


Follow us!