Kenney Leads Four Selections to All-Big 12 Softball Teams

Mikey Kenney became the first Tech player honored on the All-Big 12 first team since 2007.

May 15, 2012

Complete All-Big 12 Teams

LUBBOCK, Texas - Mikey Kenney led a group of four Texas Tech players honored on the All-Big 12 softball teams Tuesday as she was named to the first team in a vote by the conference coaches.

Kenney joins three second-team honorees in Emily Bledsoe, Sandy James, and Adriana Perez, giving Tech its most all-conference selections since also picking up four following the 2004 season.

After totaling a .327 average with 13 home runs and 31 RBI so far this season, Kenney becomes the first Tech player to be named to the first team since Ashley Parker in 2007. The Arvada, Colo. native, who is among the league leaders in runs scored, stolen bases, and home runs, was also honored by the conference following her 2010 freshman season as she was named to the second team.

Perez has added more power to the Tech lineup after transferring from Antelope Valley College this season. The junior leads the team with a .350 average, 15 home runs, and 55 RBI. She enters this weekend's NCAA Washington Regional needing just one more home run to match James' single-season record from a year ago.

Following her powerful season from a year ago, James has managed to hit 11 home runs this season while driving in 44 RBI from the middle of Tech's lineup. Along with Perez, she is among the Big 12 leaders in several offensive categories, including home runs and RBI.

Bledsoe, meanwhile, continues to be one of the conference's top third basemen as the senior is hitting .290 over her final season with five home runs and 24 RBI. A regular on the base paths, Bledsoe has swiped 10 bases this year while posting a team-high .435 on-base percentage. She has also been hit by a conference-high 14 pitches while drawing 28 walks as well.

The Fulshear, Texas native earned her third career selection, marking the first time a Red Raider had been honored in three-consecutive seasons since Sandy Butler was picked in four-straight from 1998-2001. James joined her on the second team a year ago as Tech's only two recipients.

Oklahoma led the league with three yearly award honorees in Coach of the Year Patty Gasso, Player of the Year Keilani Ricketts, and Freshman of the Year Lauren Chamberlain. Missouri's Chelsea Thomas was recognized as the conference's top pitcher while Corrin Genovese was chosen as the top defensive player.

Texas A&M had a league-high seven selections to the first and second teams while Missouri and Texas totaled six each and Oklahoma tallied five. Baylor, Kansas, and Oklahoma State all had three student-athletes chosen while Iowa State rounded out the group with one honoree.

The Red Raiders open the Washington Regional against Maryland Friday evening. First pitch is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. CT at the Husky Softball Stadium.




Follow us!