Adams, Kilgo Selected For NCAA Doubles Championships

Kenna Kilgo and Samantha Adams have been selected to compete in the NCAA Doubles Championship.

May 1, 2013

LUBBOCK, Texas – Lady Raider Tennis received more good news on Wednesday, as the NCAA announced that Texas Tech’s Samantha Adams and Kenna Kilgo have earned at-large selection in the NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Individual Doubles Championships.

"I cannot say enough what Sam and Kenna have meant to our program," said Lady Raider head coach Todd Petty. "I am really proud of them. Their hard work and effort has paid off."

The doubles competition will be conducted May 22-27 at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex/Atkins Tennis Center in Urbana, Ill., following the conclusion of the team championship, which runs from May 17-21. The University of Illinois will serve as host. All matches shall be the best of three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games all will be used for all matches.

This marks the second consecutive year that Adams and Kilgo have been selected for the event. They are the first two-time NCAA Individual Championship honorees in Texas Tech history.

The only other Lady Raiders to advance individually are Annmarie Walson and Paul Brigance, who were selected to the NCAA Doubles Championships in 1988, and Zana Zlebnik, who earned an at-large bid to the 1998 NCAA Singles Championships.

Adams and Kilgo are currently ranked No. 17 in the nation by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. The duo is 21-8 this season, including 8-2 in their last 10 matches.

Last season, Adams and Kilgo went 25-8 and entered the 2012 NCAA Doubles Championships ranked No. 19 nationally by the ITA. The duo lost in the first round to the No. 9 tandem of Courtney Dolehide and Pamela Montez of UCLA, 3-6, 6-2, 6-3.

In all, the field is made up of the nation’s top 32 doubles teams. Baylor’s Ema Burgic and Victoria Kisialeva received the Big 12 Conference’s automatic bid, while the league landed five of the 32 doubles teams in the event. Joining Texas Tech and Baylor were Karla Bonacic and Petra Niedermayerova of Kansas State, Hermon Brhane and Whitney Ritchie of Oklahoma and Breaunna Addison and Noel Scott of Texas.

On Tuesday, The Lady Raiders were named one of the 16 seeds for this season’s NCAA Championships. Texas Tech will host College of Charleston, Duke and Ole Miss on May 11-12.





Follow us!