Rotating image

Dec. 8, 1997

Texas Tech Volleyball Completes Season with Annual Banquet

Setter Lisa Hilgers Wins Red Raider Award as Squad's Most Valuable Player

Lisa Hilgers
Lisa Hilgers

LUBBOCK, Texas - The Texas Tech volleyball team officially completed its season Monday evening with the Red Raiders' annual banquet held at the Four Points-Sheraton Hotel in Lubbock, Texas. 1996 GTE Academic Volleyball All America of the Year and 1996 senior Jill Burness was on hand as the featured speaker.

Junior setter Lisa Hilgers was voted upon by team members as the squad's Red Raider Award, presented to the Most Valuable Player. Other players winning awards included junior Sonia Moric, who won the Most Improved Player Award, sophomore Courtney Putnam, who came away with the Coaches' Award, freshman Heather Hughes, who earned Top Newcomer of the Year honors, redshirt freshman Pam Osterfeld, who earned the Captain's Award and junior Kim Breitbach, who was selected for the Scholastic Award.

Texas Tech head coach Jeff Nelson also honored the Red Raiders' two seniors Brande Brown (Fort Worth) and Cristine Martin (Los Angeles, Calif.).

KLLL Radio's Rick Gilbert was selected as the "Friend" of Texas Tech volleyball for his support and dedication to the Texas Tech volleyball program. Texas Tech finished its season at 23-11 overall and 10-10 in Big 12 Conference play.

1998 Season Awards (presented at 1998 Volleyball Awards Banquet)

  • Individual Statistics Awards: junior Lisa Hilgers (Assists Award), junior Sonia Moric (Blocks Award), junior Lisa Hilgers (Digs Award), freshman Heather Hughes (Serving Award- aces), senior Brande Brown (Hitting Award)
  • "Friend" of Texas Tech Volleyball: Rick Gilbert
  • Sponsorship Award: Four Points Sheraton Hotel, Lubbock
  • Captain's Award: redshirt freshman Pam Osterfeld
  • Scholastic Award: junior Kim Breitbach
  • Top Newcomer: freshman Heather Hughes
  • Coaches' Award: sophomore Courtney Putnam
  • Most Improved Player: junior Sonia Moric
  • Red Raider Award (MVP): Lisa Hilgers
  • Senior Awards: Cristine Martin and Brande Brown
  • All-Big 12 Conference: Brande Brown (First Team), Lisa Hilgers (Honorable Mention)
  • All-Big 12 Conference Academic First Team: Brande Brown, Janelle Jones, Kim Breitbach, Natalie Rives
  • All-Big 12 Conference Academic Honorable Mention: Lisa Hilgers, Cristine Martin, Courtney Putnam

Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders