Rotating image

Four Texas Tech Athletes Honored with Dr. Gerald Lage Award

Texas Tech had four student-athletes honored with the Dr. Gerald Lage Award Tuesday.

March 5, 2013

LUBBOCK, Texas - Four Texas Tech student-athletes were honored Tuesday with the third-annual Dr. Gerald Lage Award, the Big 12 Conference's top academic honor.

Texas Tech was represented by women's basketball guard Mary Bokenkamp (Parker, Colo./Biology), volleyball defensive specialist Tory Vaughan (San Antonio, Texas/Restaurant, Hotel and Institutional Management), and golfers Kim Kaufman (Clark, S.D./Political Science) and Beverly Mendoza (Mandaluyong City, Philippines/International Economics).

A total of 13 Texas Tech student-athletes have now been recognized with the award since its inception in 2011. The honor is named in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative wit the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007.

Student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year in order to be eligible. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

The Dr. Gerald Lage award winners will be recognized at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships.

Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders