Rotating image
Volleyball Earns Five Spots On Big 12 Academic Team




Nov. 20, 2000

LUBBOCK, Texas - The Texas Tech volleyball team earned five spots on the 2000 Academic All-Big 12 Volleyball First-Team, the Big 12 Conference announced today.

Seniors Colleen Smith and Janelle Jones along with juniors Kate Jury and Heather Hughes-Justice and sophomore Melissa McGehee were named first-team selections.

Texas Tech tied for third with Oklahoma for the most selections to the first-team behind 2000 Big 12 Champion Nebraska and Texas A&M.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the volleyball academic all-league squad consisted of 45 combined first team members with 14 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.2 or better grade-point average, while the second team are those who have a 3.0 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.0 grade point average or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of her team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are eligible.



Official Gear of the
Texas Tech Red Raiders