Brummitt Garners All-Big 12 Postseason Honors

Rachel Brummitt was recognized as an All-Big 12 honorable mention selection Monday.

Dec. 2, 2013

All-Big 12 Postseason Teams

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech junior Rachel Brummitt was honored Monday on the All-Big 12 teams that were announced by the conference office as she was named an honorable mention selection after another record-breaking season for the Red Raiders.

Brummitt, who finished with a Big 12-leading 604 digs this season, is only Tech's second All-Big 12 selection since 2004, joining Amanda Dowdy, who earned first-team honors twice following the 2010-11 seasons.

The Plano, Texas native was just one of two Big 12 liberos recognized on the first team or as an honorable mention selection. Iowa State's Kristen Hahn garnered Libero of the Year accolades and was also a first-team recipient.

The All-Big 12 selection capped another memorable season for Brummitt, who is just the ninth Red Raider all-time to ever earn all-conference honors. She snapped the Texas Tech single-season digs record for the second-straight year, finishing with almost 100 more digs than her previous mark from the 2012 season.

Brummitt did so all while playing one less set than in 2012 when she recorded 510 digs at a 4.32 per set average. She ended 2013 averaging 5.16 digs per set which ranked second in the Big 12 and 25th nationally.

Brummitt recorded one of the top defensive performances in conference history on Nov. 20 as she totaled a Texas Tech and Big 12 record 36 digs against Oklahoma. The performance broke the long-standing conference record from 2000 for a four-set match and also matched the overall digs record at Texas Tech as well.

In addition to her work on the back row, Brummitt also proved dangerous behind the service line as she posted 32 aces, the most for a since Emily Ziegler recorded 52 during the 2006 season. Her 0.27 aces per set average ended the regular season ranked seventh in the conference.

Texas outside hitter Haley Eckerman was named the conference Player of the Year while Erin McNorton of Kansas and Chiaka Ogbogu of Texas were the league's Setter and Freshman of the Year, respectively. Kansas' Ray Bechard repeated as the conference Coach of the Year after leading the Jayhawks to a second-place finish and No. 13 seed in the NCAA Championship.

The Red Raiders concluded the 2013 season this past Saturday with a 3-0 sweep over TCU. It was the first time Tech had swept a Big 12 opponent since defeating Texas A&M at home in 2006.




Follow us!